Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Faith – Confidence in Jesus!

Hebrews 11:1

Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

82015 RayWhat is it you are confident in these days? This morning my 3-point shot wasn’t falling – but all in all – I would say I have confidence in my 3-ball. As a shooter – I launch the ball expecting it to go in – most times.

What is it you are confident in these days? Some folks are confident in their ability to accomplish their work assignments. Some folks are confident in their life partners. Some folks are confident in knowledge of certain fields of endeavor. Some folks are confident in their ability to play an instrument – even when sight-reading.

What is it you are confident in these days? Maybe the question could be reversed – and we could ask – what are you not confident in these days? I bet for most of us – many of the things we are most confident in have been things we were least confident in at some time in our life. Maybe a cheating partner changed our confidence in that area. Maybe a bad day shooting – causes our confidence with the 3-ball to wane. Maybe we crashed a project at work and thus our confidence was shaken. All of these and more can shake our confidence – because most of the things we have confidence in are fallible. Our confidence often relies on consistency and most things – even those things that tend to be consistent – are not always so!

BASKSTK 16-2What can we be confident in these days? Of course the Sunday School or Children’s Sermon answer is – Jesus! The Bible says that – Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever. (Hebrews 13:8)

The author of Hebrews writes this about our confidence. Hebrews 11:1 – Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see. Confidence often takes faith – faith in the unseen – the unknown. We often have confidence in things that we have seen repeated over and over. I have confidence in my 3-ball because I have been launching it for many years. One day last week I hit 4 of 5 shots from 3-point range in a game – and I had such confidence I was launching them from different angles and from deep behind the line. I even hit a running 3-ball at the end of the game on a fast break that won the game. But – like I mentioned at the start of this devotional – my confidence was shaken today as I hit 2 or 6 and stopped shooting at one point – passing up open 3’s.

The Scripture tells me this morning that I can have confidence in something – someone – that will never fail me. My confidence can be assured – if my confidence is in Jesus. My confidence in anything or anyone else – is based on consistency – and that consistency can falter – and thus my confidence can be shaken. If we place our faith – our confidence in Jesus – we can have the assurance that He will not falter – he will not fail us.

Today – place your faith – your trust – in the One who will never falter or fail! Have confidence in Jesus!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

October 14, 2015 - Posted by | Build, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal, Theology | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

