Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Spiritual Eyes

John 9:26

Then they asked him, “What did he do to you? How did he open your eyes?”

82015 RayFrom time to time – I get an eye sty.  My eye lid swells and gets red – apparently a duct gets clogged and develops a blockage.  In the morning – when I have a sty – I can hardly see out of the infected eye because of the swelling.  Hot rags and some salve and I make it through the day.  This happens maybe once a year or so.

When I have an eye sty – it causes me to consider – what it I lost my sight in one or both eyes?  What would it be like?  My life would be changed – significantly.

This discussion reminds me of the story – several of them – of the blind people who Jesus healed.  Here is one such story.

John 9:1-7 – 1 As he went along, he saw a man blind from birth. 2 His disciples asked him, “Rabbi, who sinned, this man or his parents, that he was born blind?” 3 “Neither this man nor his parents sinned,” said Jesus, “but this happened so that the work of God might be displayed in his life. 4 As long as it is day, we must do the work of him who sent me. Night is coming, when no one can work. 5 While I am in the world, I am the light of the world.” 6 Having said this, he spit on the ground, made some mud with the saliva, and put it on the man’s eyes. 7 “Go,” he told him, “wash in the Pool of Siloam” (this word means Sent). So the man went and washed, and came home seeing.

But when he arrived home – his neighbors wondered whether he was the one they knew as blind from birth.  They were puzzled and asked who healed him.  When he said it was Jesus – they began to question this.  When he was taken to the law makers/keepers – instead of rejoicing at the healing – they began to complain that it was on the Sabbath (when no work was to be done) (sort of like people who have negative things to say after just coming out of worship).

Again – instead of rejoicing at the miracle – they were afraid of Jesus – the leaders of the Jews – and they tried to trap this man (the one healed) and his parents.  They asked his parents – who acknowledged that this was their son and that he was born blind.  They refused to name Jesus – for fear of the Jewish leaders (peer pressure can make us do crazy things).  So the Jewish leaders summoned the once blind man again.

John 9:24-26 – 24 A second time they summoned the man who had been blind. “Give glory to God,” they said. “We know this man is a sinner.” 25 He replied, “Whether he is a sinner or not, I don’t know. One thing I do know. I was blind but now I see!” 26 Then they asked him, “What did he do to you? How did he open your eyes?”

Have your eyes been opened?  I mean – spiritually – do you see now where you once did not?  What has God done for you?  Are you willing to tell others about it?  Are you willing to share your story – to the best of your ability?  You gotta tell somebody of the sight you enjoy!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

October 20, 2015 - Posted by | Build, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Sermons, Theology | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

