Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Regular Prayer

1 Thessalonians 1:3

We continually remember before our God and Father your work produced by faith, your labor prompted by love, and your endurance inspired by hope in our Lord Jesus Christ.

82015 RayAs Paul writes to the church(s) of the Thessalonians he partially opened his letter with this phrase (scripture) – reminding them that they were in his prayers – continually.  It must have been heartwarming for them to read that Paul was praying for them – continually.  I mean – Paul was an Apostle – a planter of churches – a leader of men and women – among the people of God – and he remembered them on a regular basis.  Paul often reminded the people of God of his prayers for them.

I’ve shared before that one of the prayers I remember the most in my life was one my father lifted.  I heard my father praying for me – kneeling at his bed one night – before he went to bed (I had gotten up to use the bathroom).  It blessed me so much.  I remember it to this day.

What is it we lift before God on a regular basis?  An example – Carolyn and I prayed for our children from before they were conceived – and still do.  What is on our heart – what do we pray about – taking it before God?  Of late – I have been praying for our local church and for our denomination (The United Methodist Church).  Is something ever on our heart so much that we regularly lift it before God?  Is there something we remember each time we go before God in prayer?

Our prayer life is of the utmost importance.  If there is nothing we pray for on a regular basis – please pray for your pastor – for our local church – and for the denomination which our local church connects.  Keep them ever before the Lord as we seek His face.  Spend time in regular prayer with our God!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

October 28, 2015 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Denomination, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

