Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Working for Jesus!

Colossians 3:23

Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters,

82015 RayWorking for the almighty dollar. A song I remember from my childhood went something like this for the chorus – You load sixteen tons, what do you get? – Another day older and deeper in debt – Saint Peter don’t you call me ’cause I can’t go – I owe my soul to the company store. Tennessee Ernie Ford

Working for the almighty dollar. I remember my first job. I was a carrier for the Baltimore Sun – delivering the paper in my Annapolis community. It was a big responsibility for a young man with a bike. The rainy days – the cold days – were especially hard. Occasionally my parents would help me by driving me around – not often – after all – it wasn’t their job. I remember one early morning – as I was half asleep delivering the paper – a Great Dane came running out of the front door of a home on my route. It woke me up for sure – as he charged me and I jumped to the opposite side of my bike for a few houses (as if that was going to help). The money was nice – it helped me save for things I wanted that my parents weren’t willing or able to get me.

Working for the almighty dollar. I held many jobs growing up – sport’s official (football – softball – baseball – basketball – rising to High School and College in basketball and baseball) – soda jerk – maintenance worker for McDonald’s – working at a cleaners – salesperson at Sears – and more. During my college years I often had 2 or 3 jobs – especially during the summer when I made money to help carry me through the school year. I needed to earn enough money to pay my car insurance – my gas and auto maintenance – my tuition – any social life I wanted. I believe I have a good work ethic.

Working for the almighty dollar. Even after getting married and having children – I have often maintained multiple jobs like – substitute teaching – coaching sports at the High School level – driving a school bus – and more. Nothing was too small or too insignificant – as long as it helped me reach my goals – like finishing college with no debt – allowing my wife to stay at home while the girls were young – buying a better vehicle than I could afford on just one income. Side jobs have always been a part of my work portfolio. Even though working full-time with a 50-80 hour job – I always had something on the side to help ends meet.

Working for the almighty dollar. The need and want for money – for the things that money will buy – drives many of us. I’m not afraid of work and have been driven to work well so that I will get promotions or even to simply maintain a job.

As my children were growing up – one thing they loved doing was watching a children’s program on TV. One the songs they loved to sing along with the actors on the show (Colby’s Clubhouse) was about today’s passage. The song was Do It With All Your Heart – and here is a YouTube clip of the song.

Working for the almighty dollar. I may have started my working life working for the almighty dollar – but this passage and my children – helped me realize that I should work – all jobs – as if I were working for the Lord – not a boss or for the almighty dollar. Colossians 3:23 – Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters,…

I hope this passage and some of my sharing today has helped us realize that we are to work as unto the Lord. In church life – sometimes we work because we’re paid. Some volunteers – believe because they are volunteers – they can do or not do their task – because after all – they are only volunteers. I would suggest that paid or not – all tasks are worth doing well – even to our uttermost – as unto the Lord.

Recently we elected officers at our church for the coming year. I hope all read this and take it to heart. All jobs – especially those at church – are tasks to be performed to our utter best! Just have a mindset that we are not working for the almighty dollar – but rather we are working for our Lord and Savior – Jesus Christ.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

November 4, 2015 - Posted by | Bring, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Send, Sermons, Theology | , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

