Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

BFFs

Hebrews 13:5

“Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.”

112015 Ray McDonaldDo any of us have longtime friends?  Friends we have had like for forever it seems? On Facebook – some folks call long time friends BFFs – Best Friends Forever.  They have even started ranking BBFs by calling them BFF1 or BFF2 (I kid you not).

My children were blessed more than most pastor’s children – because we were at one church for such a long time (24 years).  They were able to start school (pre-school) and end High School with some of the same friends throughout.  It was amazing for them.  Some of their friends have been there for them for all that time – even as they finished college – married – and started families.  We have had their friends in and out of our home for so long we feel like they are part of our family.

I remember going to three different elementary schools – and two different junior high schools.  I attended three different churches during that time in my life and lived in five different homes in different communities.  I have a few friends from high school that I keep in touch with today – more on Facebook!  Fewer still from junior high or elementary school.  How about you?

It is a blessing to have friends from way back when (they remember some of the same things you remember)!  Yesterday as I visited my mother and father-in-law I heard a man singing old songs and many were singing along – because they remembered. Some of my best friends from my childhood have already died – at a very young age I might say.  Others have moved away.  Still others attend a different church now.  And others have just gotten too busy with life to keep up.  But the few I have – and some I keep up with on Facebook – are a treasure.

But there is One who will never leave us – never forsake us for something or someone else.  That friend is Jesus Christ – our Lord and Savior. Hebrews 13:5 – God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.”  What a promise.  Starting this Sunday we will walk toward the celebration of His birth.  I pray we will all take time out of our busy Christmas celebrations before us to remember this friend.  I know Thanksgiving is this week – but remember – Jesus is the reason for the season!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

November 23, 2015 - Posted by | Build, Christmas, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

