Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

What Is It That We Treasure?

Luke 12:34

For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

112015 Ray McDonaldMy daughter from California called tonight and told me something that brought a tear to my eye. My oldest granddaughter saw someone that looked like me and got all excited that Pop was there! Her mother had to explain that Pop was not there but that she would see him soon. I can’t wait to see her and her sister and her parents soon. My grandchildren have my heart for sure. My eight women – wife – three daughters – and four granddaughters – have my heart. They are my treasure!

What is it we treasure? What is it that we hold dear? Is it something material? It is someone? Is it our own desires? Is it Jesus?  What is it we treasure?

In today’s passage Jesus tells us that what we treasure will have our heart. Luke 12:34 – For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

Here’s the passage in partial context. Luke 12:22–34 – 22 Then Jesus said to his disciples: “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat; or about your body, what you will wear. 23 For life is more than food, and the body more than clothes. 24 Consider the ravens: They do not sow or reap, they have no storeroom or barn; yet God feeds them. And how much more valuable you are than birds! 25 Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to your life? 26 Since you cannot do this very little thing, why do you worry about the rest? 27 “Consider how the wild flowers grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you, not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. 28 If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today, and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, how much more will he clothe you—you of little faith! 29 And do not set your heart on what you will eat or drink; do not worry about it. 30 For the pagan world runs after all such things, and your Father knows that you need them. 31 But seek his kingdom, and these things will be given to you as well. 32 “Do not be afraid, little flock, for your Father has been pleased to give you the kingdom. 33 Sell your possessions and give to the poor. Provide purses for yourselves that will not wear out, a treasure in heaven that will never fail, where no thief comes near and no moth destroys. 34 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

Whatever it is we focus on – whatever holds our attention – whatever we treasure – that is where our heart will be. The older I get the more I treasure my family. This will be our third Christmas without my dad and I miss him so. I would give up anything material I own to have more time with him. My mom is battling the late stages of dementia – my father-in-law as well. My mother-in-law has some health issues too. Two of my daughters live out-of-state – as do all four of my grandchildren. One daughter is local – and we are so blessed to have her near us. We hope she will spend Christmas Eve with us into Christmas morning. So – while I treasure my family more and more – our time together is mostly on Face-time these days. It is hard to hug over the Internet!

What do we treasure this Christmas? I sure hope it is something important like family or better yet – our relationship with Jesus. Think about it for a moment. What do we treasure? How about sharing it with others!  Sharing Jesus – sharing family (with those who do not have family or no family nearby).

Remember that Jesus is not only the reason for the season – He is the reason for every day of our lives!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

December 15, 2015 - Posted by | Advent Thought, Build, Christmas, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Marriage, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

