Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

The New Year Is Coming Soon!

John 14:3

And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am.

112015 Ray McDonaldJesus has gone before us to prepare a place for us.  I like this!  I even yearn for this!  Do you?  I did a funeral yesterday and the family and friends were holding onto the hope that they would see their loved one again!

Jesus was speaking to His disciples and He made them a promise.  This promise – I believe – is good for all of His followers – His disciples – His church.  Jesus often prayed for us and for our walk with Him.

I have days when I yearn for the place He has prepared for me in heaven – not that I don’t enjoy the place I have here and now – but I think often of the place He has prepared for me in heaven.  I mean – life is good – but heaven is so much better than anything we could and do have here.

There are a number of places in the Bible that speaks of this place – streets of gold – the angels – and saints gathered around the throne.  But the part that I like the most is that we will be eternally with Jesus.  Walking with God much like the image of Adam and Eve walking in the garden with Him – I love this image.  As a New Year approaches – I want to recommit my life to Jesus and I encourage our readers to do the same.

I never knew my grandfathers – mom’s dad or dad’s dad.  My maternal grandfather died before I was born and my paternal grandfather died when I was just a few months old.  But I have heard a lot about them in my life and I would love to meet them some day.  I have heard a lot about Jesus in my life – I have met Him in my heart – but I also look forward to meeting Him face to face.  I yearn for that day!  Along with Jesus and my grandfathers and grandmothers – I look forward to seeing my dad again too.

And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am.

I look forward to the day!  I yearn for His presence – in body and soul.  How about you?  As the New Year unfolds before us – let us seek His face and desire His grace as we walk each day!  The New Year is soon to be here – won’t we desire the Lord more and more?

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

 

December 30, 2015 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

