Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

A Pure Heart – A Steadfast Spirit

Psalm 51:10

Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me.

112015 Ray McDonaldA pure heart!  A steadfast spirit!  Obviously two things to strive toward – to gain through Christ – but how?  The Psalmist writes: create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. Is that how easy it is – to simply pray for it?  And are we sincere when we pray?

As I surf through the many comments on Facebook these days – from young and not-so-young people – I see hurting people who are searching for something.  Some use acronyms to mask the words they are thinking – some simply type it out – for the world to read.  Shock value or not – many of us are far from a pure heart – far from a steadfast spirit.  We are hurting and we are searching and we need God more than we might think.  If you’re not a Facebook person – we’re not excluded from this thought.  Some of the words we use – some of the things we look at on the TV or on the internet – some of the thoughts we have – reveal our need for a pure heart – a steadfast spirit.

There must be more to it than simply asking for a clean heart and a steadfast spirit.  The Psalmist gives us a clue with the verses that precede verse 10 of this Psalm.

Psalms 51:1-9 – 1 Have mercy on me, O God, according to your unfailing love; according to your great compassion blot out my transgressions. 2 Wash away all my iniquity and cleanse me from my sin. 3 For I know my transgressions, and my sin is always before me. 4 Against you, you only, have I sinned and done what is evil in your sight, so that you are proved right when you speak and justified when you judge. 5 Surely I was sinful at birth, sinful from the time my mother conceived me. 6 Surely you desire truth in the inner parts; you teach me wisdom in the inmost place. 7 Cleanse me with hyssop, and I will be clean; wash me, and I will be whiter than snow. 8 Let me hear joy and gladness; let the bones you have crushed rejoice. 9 Hide your face from my sins and blot out all my iniquity.

The Scriptures continue to take us back to a need for Grace –a need for forgiveness.  But it also takes us back to a place where we are sorrowful for our sins – where we realize that we are lost without the Grace of God.

Recently we looked at the need to build a deeper relationship with a consistent God in order to discern God’s will in our lives – in an ever-changing world.  Seeking His face – while desiring His grace – is essential.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

January 19, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal, Prayer, Sermons, Theology | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

