Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

The Deep Snow Is Coming!

1 John 2:6

Whoever claims to live in him (Jesus) must walk as Jesus did.

112015 Ray McDonaldWhat paths do we walk each day?  Do we even determine our path or is it pre-determined for us?  What journey are we on these days?  I will go back to an old devotional and remind us to be in the Word each and every day.  It is in the Word of God that we will find the path that Jesus walked and thus the path that we should walk.  John writes in his Epistle – 1 John 2:6 – Whoever claims to live in him (Jesus) must walk as Jesus did.

In another devotional from yesterday – I wrote about walking in the light – how the light came into the world to shine in the darkness.  In order to walk in darkness of the world – we need the light to shine on our path – the direction in which we walk.  But once the light is shining we need to know which path to take – because there is often more than one path to choose.  Godly discernment is so very important and we can find it through reading the Word of God.

I remember a foolish path I took as a young adult.  I had just purchased a Jeep Cherokee and thought – foolishly – that I could take it anywhere!  We were visiting a friend on a local farm and I decided – in the night and in the deep snow – that I would go down a darkened path.  I decided I would take my friend down a path behind his house to test out the 4-wheel drive.  We barreled down the path which was only marked by where the trees were not!  At the bottom my friend gave out a shout!  We had narrowly made it over a bridge I didn’t even know was there over a creek I had not seen before!  The path we take can lead us in directions we are not sure of and can result in consequences we are not prepared to tackle!  (It is another story to tell you how we got up from the bottom of the path back to the house).

Jesus invites us to walk with Him on His path – He even says He will walk with us as we follow His path.  Matthew 11:28-30 – 28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

As Jesus finished washing His disciples’ feet – as the time for the end of His earthly life nearing – Jesus told His disciples to follow His example.  John 13:15 – I have set you an example that you should do as I have done for you.

Paul was such a follower of Christ that he called upon those who read his letters to follow Christ as he followed Christ.  1 Corinthians 11:1 – Follow my example, as I follow the example of Christ.  Paul also encourages others to be imitators of God through Christ’s example.  Ephesians 5:1-2 – 1 Be imitators of God, therefore, as dearly loved children 2 and live a life of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.

For those who suffer for righteousness – following the example of Christ – Peter had these words.  1 Peter 2:20b-21 – 20b But if you suffer for doing good and you endure it, this is commendable before God. 21 To this you were called, because Christ suffered for you, leaving you an example, that you should follow in his steps.

Today – even as in the day of the Apostles – the challenge is to walk with Jesus – following His steps – His path.  Allow the Word of God to not only shine in the darkness of the sinful world we live in but also to shine on the path that Jesus walked.  A good way to get into the Word each day is by reading a regular – scheduled – planned reading assignment.  You can find many at https://www.youversion.com/reading-plans.  Try one – you will find it very uplifting and it will shine the light of Christ in your heart and on your day.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

January 22, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

