Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

A Call To Prayer And Fasting

Zechariah 7:4-5

4 Then the word of the Lord Almighty came to me: 5 “Ask all the people of the land and the priests, ‘When you fasted and mourned in the fifth and seventh months for the past seventy years, was it really for me that you fasted?

112015 Ray McDonaldSo – here is a question for us today – as we prepare for our Pre-Lenten Revival time in February (the revival starts Sunday – February 7 – and is on Prayer).  Do we pray and fast – regularly?  I mean – is it an essential part of our spiritual walk as we strive to draw closer to God?  The answer to that question might go a long way in explaining if we are growing spiritually or not.

I would like to call the church to a time of prayer and fasting from the start of our revival through Lent (7 weeks – 49 days).  I know that is a long time – but it will be very rewarding – if we seek His face and desire His grace.

When we fast from something – we should spend extra time with God.  Spending extra time with God – will draw us closer to God.  Here is something important to understand. Read well!  When we fast from certain foods and expect something – like weight loss – is fasting for us or for God?  Losing weight is OK – but it shouldn’t be the reason we fast.  As we call for a time of prayer and fasting during Lent – what would we fast from and how would we spend our time?

During the Lenten Prayer/Fast – I’m planning to fast from Diet Pepsi – or any soda at all – drinking more water.  I also plan to fast from social media other than as a teaching tool.  I think I will also refrain from any online games (I play solitaire to pass the time). What about you?  What would you fast from during Lent?  Think and pray about it!

I’m fasting from these items – and there will be personal benefits – but the benefit I am after is a closer walk with Jesus.  The writer today wrote: “Ask all the people of the land and the priests, ‘When you fasted and mourned in the fifth and seventh months for the past seventy years, was it really for me that you fasted?  In other words – were they expecting something out of this spiritual act or where they merely trying to draw closer to God?  Think about it!  We need to ask ourselves this same question.  My hope is that we will all be drawn closer to God!

Daniel 9:3 – So I turned to the Lord God and pleaded with him in prayer and petition, in fasting, and in sackcloth and ashes. During the Prayer/Fast – I pray we spend more time in prayer – and more time with God.  Set aside time each day – spend it with God.

I will report here how I’m doing.  I would love to hear how we all are doing.  I will continue to pray for us all as we walk through these days of our prayer/fast.  I pray God’s Spirit – the Holy Spirit – will speak to our spirits.

If anyone wishes to join me – I will find a reading plan on www.youversion.com.  Join me or try your own reading plan.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

January 27, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Fast, From the Pastor, Holy Spirit, Leadership, Lenten Thought, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Sermons, Theology | , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

