Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Pray And Do Not Give Up!

Luke 18:1

Then Jesus told his disciples a parable to show them that they should always pray and not give up.

112015 Ray McDonaldI’m sitting here tonight in my chair – watching the reports from Iowa on the news – with a twisted back and sore neck – rotating a heated bean bag from my neck to my back. I’m typing on my iPad – trying to put together my thoughts for tomorrow’s devotional. I’m wondering if the two or three candidates I have been following will fare well tonight. I’m wondering if the two or three candidates I hope never get elected will do well (I sure hope not). There is so much at stake in this election.

The candidates are leaving nothing to chance. They are working long hours to get their message across. They have spent millions of dollars to be elected. This is only the first of 50 states to walk through this preliminary voting process. Please pray about who you will vote for and please – get out and vote.

Starting Sunday – we will begin a time of prayer and fasting. Starting Sunday – before or after the Super Bowl – your choice – we will pick some things to remove from our lives and we will pick some things to add to our lives. Our plan is to remove things that hinder us physically or spiritually and adding things that will enhance us. I’m going to remove some things I put into my body (food and drink) and some behaviors as well. I’m going to spend more time in prayer and less time on social media. I challenge our readers to follow suit – to pick some things that will enhance our relationship with Christ.

What is it that is worth our time to pray about – without ceasing? What will we take time to pray over in the days ahead? My prayers will center on the health and well being of our church family – of my walk with Jesus – and some personal items. I will also spend time praying about the upcoming elections. What is on your list?

Here is today’s passage in partial context. Luke 18:1-8 – 1 Then Jesus told his disciples a parable to show them that they should always pray and not give up. 2 He said: “In a certain town there was a judge who neither feared God nor cared what people thought. 3 And there was a widow in that town who kept coming to him with the plea, ‘Grant me justice against my adversary.’ “For some time he refused. But finally he said to himself, ‘Even though I don’t fear God or care what people think, 5 yet because this widow keeps bothering me, I will see that she gets justice, so that she won’t eventually come and attack me!’ ” 6 And the Lord said, “Listen to what the unjust judge says. And will not God bring about justice for his chosen ones, who cry out to him day and night? Will he keep putting them off? 8 I tell you, he will see that they get justice, and quickly. However, when the Son of Man comes, will he find faith on the earth?”

I encourage us to keep lifting our prayers before God. I encourage us to pray and never cease. Dear readers – pray and do not give up! Keep pleading with God and seeking His face and desiring His grace.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

February 2, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, Fast, From the Pastor, Leadership, Lenten Thought, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Theology | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

