Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

I Am Confident Of This

Psalm 27:13-14

I am still confident of this: I will see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living. Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord.

112015 Ray McDonaldThis Psalm starts off with very familiar words: Psalms 27:1 – The Lord is my light and my salvation — whom shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life — of whom shall I be afraid?

One of the things that Christians have going for them – is a belief in life after death – and in eternal life in Christ.  It isn’t that we don’t enjoy this life – at times we really enjoy it – at times we could take it or leave it – but there is something better to come.  That is our hope – that is our faith.

Having this hope – this faith – allows us to face life differently than others.  Our belief in eternity – in God – allows us to look beyond the momentary troubles and look at a larger goal.  As a Christian we can say: If God is for us, who can be against us? Romans 8:31b

I spoke with a friend the other day that is facing some life struggles now.  I tried to encourage this person to look beyond the momentary troubles and to remember that soon and very soon this world – which is unfair – will pass – and we will live before a righteous God.  I reminded them to fight the good fight – while life remains – but to keep their eye on a higher goal.

Do we know anyone facing life’s struggles?  Do we know anyone facing serious health issues?  Do we know anyone facing troubles?  If we do – and I think we all do – we should try to help them see the light of eternity – the hope that we have in Jesus. In five days recently I celebrated the life of four persons.  I tried to help the families see the hope that is ours in Christ!

I am still confident of this: I will see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living. Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

P.S. – My father-in-law passed yesterday. We will miss him greatly!  He is now with Jesus and feeling no pain!

February 3, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

