Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Let’s Keep Our Eyes On God!

Psalm 77:12

I will consider all your works and meditate on all your mighty deeds.”

112015 Ray McDonaldSo – how’s your Prayer/Fast going? Leave a comment or two!  Mine has had ups and downs.  I’m doing well with the fast from sodas.  I’m spending more time with Jesus.  My devotional life is going well – but I’m still battling some things.  I keep praying about them and I encourage you to lift me in your prayers!

I mentioned my father-in-law and my father in a recent post and thought I would again – it just seemed appropriate. In today’s passage – the author informs us – that he considers all of God’s works and meditates on all of God’s deeds. I often remember the things my father and father-in-law did in their lives and taught me. Is there someone in your life – whose teachings and deeds you remember?  I pray there is!  If not – maybe you can be that someone for someone else!

Today’s lesson is from a Psalm that begins with the following two verses. Psalm 77:1–2 – I cried out to God for help; I cried out to God to hear me. 2 When I was in distress, I sought the Lord; at night I stretched out untiring hands, and I would not be comforted.

Like yesterday’s sermon at FUMC – when we talked about the low places in our lives – the valley of dry bones that we all deal with from time to time – the Psalmist is going through a tough time. He turns to God. He cries out to God. In his pain – he even – for a moment – believes that God is not there for him. Psalm 77:7–9 – “Will the Lord reject forever? Will he never show his favor again? 8 Has his unfailing love vanished forever? Has his promise failed for all time? 9 Has God forgotten to be merciful? Has he in anger withheld his compassion?”

Have we ever experienced a time when we thought God had forgotten about us? A time when we thought God was sleeping or looking the other way? The Psalmist experienced this feeling. Instead of running from God – he began to think on Him – to focus on Him. Here is today’s passage in partial context. Psalm 77:10–15 – 10 Then I thought, “To this I will appeal: the years when the Most High stretched out his right hand. 11 I will remember the deeds of the Lord; yes, I will remember your miracles of long ago. 12 I will consider all your works and meditate on all your mighty deeds.” 13 Your ways, God, are holy. What god is as great as our God? 14 You are the God who performs miracles; you display your power among the peoples. 15 With your mighty arm you redeemed your people, the descendants of Jacob and Joseph.

When we feel down and out – when we feel like we are facing a mountain that is too high to climb – we need to – as the Psalmist did – take our eyes off of our problem and put them on our God. A familiar saying goes like this – Don’t tell your God how big your problem is – tell your problem how big your God is!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

February 22, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, Fast, From the Pastor, Holy Spirit, Leadership, Lenten Thought, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Sermons, Theology, Worship | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

