Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Telling Others About Jesus!

Matthew 10:32-39

32 “Whoever acknowledges me before men, I will also acknowledge him before my Father in heaven. 33 But whoever disowns me before men, I will disown him before my Father in heaven.  34 “Do not suppose that I have come to bring peace to the earth. I did not come to bring peace, but a sword. 35 For I have come to turn “‘a man against his father, a daughter against her mother, a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law— 36 a man’s enemies will be the members of his own household.’ 37 “Anyone who loves his father or mother more than me is not worthy of me; anyone who loves his son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me; 38 and anyone who does not take his cross and follow me is not worthy of me. 39 Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.

112015 Ray McDonaldSoon we will start a sermon series titled Walking to the Cross.  We will take three weeks to approach the Cross of Calvary. Today I want to break down some thoughts in this passage that will be fruitful for us as we search for what the walk to the cross really means.

Jesus – talking to His disciples – was equipping them and giving them marching orders.  He begins this section of Scripture with these words: Whoever acknowledges me before men, I will also acknowledge him before my Father in heaven.

Most if not all of us like to be acknowledged for doing a good job.  Words of affirmation is actually one of the five love languages.  As a child I can remember that my father’s attaboy meant a great deal to me.  To hear him say well done was a good feeling.  I imagine that most of us would like to hear that from God the Father as well.  Those whom the Father gave a task to accomplish – and they did what was asked – got an attaboy from Him.

Matthew 25:21 – “His master replied, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master’s happiness!’

How do we acknowledge God before men and women?  By the way we live – by where we set our heart (remember where your treasure is there your heart will be also – Matthew 6:21) – by the way we worship and place God first in our lives – by our witness.  What has stayed with me is this truth – anytime I sin – I have placed something above God in my life and I have not been a very good witness.

“Whoever acknowledges me before men, I will also acknowledge him before my Father in heaven.”  Let us think on ways to acknowledge God before men and women daily – that God might be glorified by our witness and our life.  Let us tell others about Jesus – and if we must – we can use our words!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

February 25, 2016 - Posted by | Bring, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Lenten Thought, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

