Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

God’s Special Possession

1 Peter 2:9

But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, God’s special possession, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light.

112015 Ray McDonaldI have four fantastic grandchildren. All four are special to me. One is the first-born and came into my life during a time when I needed her most. One has no fear and the cutest curls. One has red hair and cuddles with her Pop (of course they all do). One is our baby for now – and has such a smile – it will melt your heart! All four of them are beautiful like their GC and their moms. They are all special to me – not possessions – but rather treasures.

I play basketball a few mornings a week. Of late I have been having a hard time. My 3-point shot – which has never been a problem – has left me for spurts – and it is getting frustrating. I went through a couple of games the last two weeks without hitting even one and some games I simply passed up on taking them – because my confidence is waning. The coolest thing – most days I am the oldest person and often the younger players cheer me on – even from the other team that day. They encourage me to take me shot – even giving up shots they could take to give me a good look. One of the best players that play with us often gives up his shot so that I can take my shot. Wednesday morning one of the young men who can hit 3’s like few others – was cheering my shots and another player who hits 3’s often – playing on the other team – was cheering me on as well. Again – not possessions but treasures for sure. A good group of guys! As I turn 61 – not sure how much longer I will last – but it is still fun enough to deal with the aches and pains that come with playing.

Today’s passage speaks of us as God’s possession. Here it is in partial context. 1 Peter 2:4–10 – As you come to him, the living Stone—rejected by humans but chosen by God and precious to him—you also, like living stones, are being built into a spiritual house to be a holy priesthood, offering spiritual sacrifices acceptable to God through Jesus Christ. 6 For in Scripture it says: “See, I lay a stone in Zion, a chosen and precious cornerstone, and the one who trusts in him will never be put to shame.”  7 Now to you who believe, this stone is precious. But to those who do not believe, “The stone the builders rejected has become the cornerstone,” 8 and, “A stone that causes people to stumble and a rock that makes them fall.” They stumble because they disobey the message—which is also what they were destined for. 9 But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, God’s special possession, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light. 10 Once you were not a people, but now you are the people of God; once you had not received mercy, but now you have received mercy.

We might have some special people in our lives – like my granddaughters or friends that play ball early in the morning (for the last 30 plus years). As special as these people are to us – we are that special and more to our God. We are called God’s special possessions. We are a royal priesthood – serving our Lord who loves us so. That is amazing to me.

I hope my granddaughters never see the sinful and grumpy me. I hope my friends that play basketball will always be supportive – even as I get worst with age. But I won’t count on this. What I will count on is that my God loves me – even knowing my sinful grumpy self. My God loves me enough to die for me on the Cross of Calvary. My God loves me through and through – and forgives my sin and even forgives me when I don’t hit my 3’s!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

March 3, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Lenten Thought, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

