Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Let Our Light So Shine

Matthew 5:16

In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.

112015 Ray McDonaldJust a personal note – today is my birthday!  I’m 61 today and thankful that God has allowed me to live this long.  I also want to thank my parents – family – and friends for putting up with me all of these years (or as long as you’ve known me.

OK – I must admit it up front – I am an Orioles’ fan – I mean it – even when we suffered though 14 straight losing seasons – I love me some O’s.  They have returned to some winning of late and now we have gotten use to it again. Ever since I was a young lad – in 1966 when they won the World Series and I was 11 years old collecting baseball cards – I have followed the O’s.  I remember the time I met Eddie Murray – it was a highlight for me.

I follow them closely – I listen to their games – even those on the West Coast late at night (just ask my wife).  I have an O’s jacket – some hats and other items.  I have baseball cards of some of the O’s greats of old like Brooks Robinson – Boog Powell – Frank Robinson – Mark Belanger – Jim Palmer – Paul Blair – Dave McNally – and more.  I’m excited about my O’s – the coming season – and I let others know it.  I really think they will go far this year – even though some think they will be in last place in their division.  They have won more games than any American League team since 2012 I think.

Some of us are excited about March Madness which begins soon.  I enjoy watching the men’s and women’s Terp teams.  I also enjoy watching the Wizards (although I don’t like their team name).  Do you think your favorite team – men’s or women’s – will go far this year – even making the final four?

How did you become a fan of your favorite team or anything you are excited about in your life?  Most of us probably got excited about a team or a hobby because our parents were excited – or we attended the school – or some friends were excited.  Someone probably impacted our interest in the team or hobby that excites us.

What if the Body of Christ was as excited for Jesus and for reaching others for Jesus as we are about our favorite teams or hobbies?  Do you think if we told people how instrumental Jesus has been in shaping our lives – how sweet the fellowship is at our local church – how important it is to study the Word of God – people might be attracted to that same Jesus? Our mission as a church family is to bring people into environments where they can encounter Christ – build people up in their knowledge and understanding of Christ – and to send people out to serve Christ.  We will not bring too many people into a fellowship where we are not excited and sold out for Jesus.

Matthew 5:16 – In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.

Let’s let our excitement – the light of Christ in us – shine so that others are drawn to Jesus.  Let God be glorified by His work in us – through us and in spite of us!

It’s my birthday!  A great gift would be for everyone to let their light shine today for Jesus!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

March 4, 2016 - Posted by | Bring, Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Lenten Thought, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

