Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

God’s Great Love

1 John 3:1

See what great love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are! The reason the world does not know us is that it did not know him.

112015 Ray McDonaldI have four fantastic grandchildren. I mentioned them a couple of days ago in my devotional thought and I have mentioned them before. All four of my grandchildren live out-of-state. Two live in New Jersey and two live in California. Let me tell you – FaceTime is one of the best inventions ever. Also free long distance on our cells to talk to our daughters and sons in far off places! It has made the distance seem less.

Two of my grandchildren are visiting with us this weekend. It is amazing how fast they grow. It hasn’t been that long since they visited last – but they are doing more and growing. At times I wish I were retired so I could visit with them more and spend more time with them when they visit – but that is another story all together.

The reason I mention them again today is the title and base Scripture of today’s devotional. I find myself feeling a great love for them. They are blood of our blood – children of our children – and we love them with a great love. I cannot explain how I feel when I see them or when I get to hold them and cuddle with them. I feel warm inside and cherish being with them. It is an amazing love for sure.

Yet – this love is just a small portion of the great love that God has for us. I love my grandchildren because they are my grandchildren. Yet God loved us while we were still His enemies. Romans 5:10 – For if, while we were God’s enemies, we were reconciled to him through the death of his Son, how much more, having been reconciled, shall we be saved through his life!

Here is today’s passage in partial context. 1 John 3:1–3 – 1 See what great love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are! The reason the world does not know us is that it did not know him. Dear friends, now we are children of God, and what we will be has not yet been made known. But we know that when Christ appears, we shall be like him, for we shall see him as he is. 3 All who have this hope in him purify themselves, just as he is pure.

What great love God has for us – His children. If I can put some human feeling on God for a moment – I imagine God having a warm inside feeling when He looks at His children.

I realize by grandchildren will not always please their Pop. They will make mistakes and may make choices that do not please their parents or grandparents – yet we will always love them. God loves us – even when we sin – and He even died for us while we were yet His enemies. This is amazing to me. I do not love ISSIS – or Hitler – or drug dealers – or racists – or pimps (and the list could go on). I could never love such persons or groups – and God doesn’t love their actions – but God’s love is for everyone – if they turn their hearts toward Him. His great love is always there for them. That blows my mind – after all I have done – all of my sins – God’s great love is there for me!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

P.S. Yesterday was my birthday – number 61! As my father would say – I entered my 62nd year yesterday!

March 5, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Lenten Thought, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

