Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

The Next POTUS

Proverbs 15:14

The discerning heart seeks knowledge, but the mouth of a fool feeds on folly.

112015 Ray McDonaldIt is an election year. In a few months we will elect the next President of the United States (the POTUS). I have mentioned several times that I wish there was a none-of-the-above button. I’m starting to narrow my choice – but my choice may not be the two that are put up by their parties. I keep praying.

It is hard to watch the debates – for both parties. It seems that all are pretty adept at not answering the questions they are being asked. The avoid answering the question and move onto whatever they wish to say. Something like – I hear your question but let me say this about such and such. They never return to the question.

At times the candidates are name-calling. Most do not have respect for their fellow candidates – interrupting them and speaking over them – even when it is not their turn to speak. Basic manners and things most of us learned in grade school are lost on them it seems (not all of them).

As we pray about whom we will vote for in the upcoming elections – today’s passage speaks to my heart. Proverbs 15:14 – The discerning heart seeks knowledge, but the mouth of a fool feeds on folly. It seems that the discerning hearts have dropped out (IMHO) and the rest are either being foolish or pushing the envelope to that threshold for sure.

As the candidates battle for votes and delegates to vote them in for their parties’ nomination – I sure hope that their behavior now is not how they will act if elected. We do not need a clown in the office of POTUS (no jokes about current or former Presidents please).

I saw a church sign on Facebook this week and plan to put it on ours as soon as we get it installed. It read – Have the Donkey & the Elephant let you down? Turn to the Lamb.

I’m not sure I agree 100% with any candidate. What I’m starting to look for is a man or woman who will allow their faith to speak to their policy. I know – we’re not electing a pastor – but having a POTUS who will pray and seek God is what I’m looking for – just saying. Some have presented themselves as persons of faith – but so far – few have shown the character of Christ (one did but he is no longer running). I pray that a candidate – for me – will stand up and be counted. If I were running (thank God I am not) – I would rather lose the vote and stand for Jesus – than present myself as something I am not – in order to get the vote.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

March 8, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Lenten Thought, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

