Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Walking With Jesus

Luke 19:3

He wanted to see who Jesus was, but because he was short he could not see over the crowd.

112015 Ray McDonaldI remember waiting in line – a long line – that seemed to go on forever – when my family went to pay our respect to President John F. Kennedy – lying in state. I remember that several times my dad had to pick me up so that I could see what was going on around us – while in line and when we arrived at the casket. I was short and had to be lifted up.

I remember watching a baseball game and needing to climb a fence in order to get a better view. I was shorter than the other folks at the game and in order to see the game I had to climb up high. I jumped down to catch a ball only to cut my arm on the barbed wire on top of the fence (and I have the scare to prove it).

I remember climbing trees as a child. The view from up high was thrilling – so was the climbing. I loved to climb trees as a child. I built several tree forts as a child and played in the trees often. I played in my tree forts for hours at a time – sometimes taking a nap in the warm summer heat.

I remember climbing into my deer stand – and trying to get it higher and higher each year – in order to see all around me and in order to not be seen by the deer. I remember trying to find my stand in the dark – looking high in the trees to make sure I had the right tree (lol).

Today’s passage is about Zacchaeus (as was yesterday’s sermon). He was a wee little man – according to the children’s story and Scripture. He was a seeker – interested in Jesus – and he wanted to catch a glimpse of Him. So as an older man – he climbed into a tree.

As a taller than average man – I have appreciated height. But even so – I have needed to climb higher to get a better view. I’ve been to the top of the Washington Monument – I have been to the top some really tall buildings in New York City. The view is often amazing.

Zacchaeus climbed up high to get a good look at Jesus. When Jesus passed by – He told Zacchaeus to come down and walk with Him. He called him by name. That is the basis of Sunday’s sermon – has Jesus called us by name – has Jesus called us to walk with Him?

Here is today’s passage in partial context. Luke 19:1–10 – 1 Jesus entered Jericho and was passing through. A man was there by the name of Zacchaeus; he was a chief tax collector and was wealthy. He wanted to see who Jesus was, but because he was short he could not see over the crowd. So he ran ahead and climbed a sycamore-fig tree to see him, since Jesus was coming that way. 5 When Jesus reached the spot, he looked up and said to him, “Zacchaeus, come down immediately. I must stay at your house today.” 6 So he came down at once and welcomed him gladly. All the people saw this and began to mutter, “He has gone to be the guest of a sinner.” 8 But Zacchaeus stood up and said to the Lord, “Look, Lord! Here and now I give half of my possessions to the poor, and if I have cheated anybody out of anything, I will pay back four times the amount.” Jesus said to him, “Today salvation has come to this house, because this man, too, is a son of Abraham. 10 For the Son of Man came to seek and to save the lost.”

Are we walking with Jesus? Are we willing to do something unusual to get to see Jesus? Are we will to climb high to get a glimpse of Jesus? Are we seekers? Has Jesus called us by name? Are we disciples of Christ? Are we walking with Jesus?

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

March 14, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Lenten Thought, Outreach, Personal, Sermons, Theology, Worship | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

