Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Waking Early With Jesus!

Psalm 119:147

I rise before dawn and cry for help; I have put my hope in your word.

112015 Ray McDonaldEaster morning is less than two weeks away.  I usually rise earlier on Easter than most mornings.  This past year I rose up at 4:00 am.  I know that for some men and women – even some of my friends – waking up that early or earlier is a regular practice.  Some of my children often get up that early on a regular basis to head to work.

Getting up at 4 am is not my usual time to rise.  As a matter of fact – there have been nights I haven’t gone to sleep until that time!  My normal time to rise is between 5:45 and 6 am.  By that time on Easter we will already be at church and getting ready for our 6:30 am Sunrise service.  The sun will rise and we will celebrate the Son rising.

How do we start our mornings – whether we start it before dawn – at dawn or some time afterward?  The passage today says: I rise before dawn and cry for help; I have put my hope in your word. Whatever time we rise – please let us put our hope – our first thoughts – on God.  Let us read His Word – spend time in prayer – sit and listen for God to speak to our heart.  It will help start our day on the right note!  I know it works because it works for me – try it and let me know.

Wouldn’t adding a little time with God in the morning help?  I mean – some of us splash a little water on our face in the morning – we brush our teeth (a WV joke is in there somewhere) – we brush our hair (those of us who still have some) – and we drink a cup of coffee and for one of my sons – throw down a couple of donuts.  All this and more is our normal morning routine.  Why not add a little God time to it and see if it doesn’t impact our whole day!

What do we think?  Could we try it and see what happens?  God will not avoid us for sure.  God will make Himself known to us if we seek His face and desire His grace.  As Easter approaches – let us make time each day for Jesus!  He made time in His life for us!  He died on the Cross of Calvary to pay for our sins.  Let’s make time for Him during our mornings!  What do you think?

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

March 15, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, From the Pastor, Holy Spirit, Leadership, Lenten Thought, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Theology | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

