Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Live as Children of Light

Ephesians 5:8

For you were once darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Live as children of light

112015 Ray McDonaldI often tell this story at funerals. When my oldest daughter was old enough to spend the night at a girlfriend’s home – her mother and I gave her the talk – about being on her best behavior and minding her manners. Remember – we told her – you represent your mom and dad – your family.

Of course – she did so well – when the mother reported back all that she did – I wondered if she was talking about my daughter. She certainly lived in a manner that represented her family well.

Sometimes – I ask myself – if I have lived in such a way to be a blessing to others. I think about my father and mother and whether they would be pleased with the life I am living and have lived. I think about my wife and children and the example I have been or failed to be at times.

During Holy Week especially – I think of how the Lord must be pleased or displeased at times with my life. I do self-examination during Lent and try to reflect upon my walk with Jesus and how I might improve my walk.

Here is today’s passage in partial context. Ephesians 5:1–13 – 1 Follow God’s example, therefore, as dearly loved children 2 and walk in the way of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God. 3 But among you there must not be even a hint of sexual immorality, or of any kind of impurity, or of greed, because these are improper for God’s holy people. 4 Nor should there be obscenity, foolish talk or coarse joking, which are out of place, but rather thanksgiving. For of this you can be sure: No immoral, impure or greedy person—such a person is an idolater—has any inheritance in the kingdom of Christ and of God.  Let no one deceive you with empty words, for because of such things God’s wrath comes on those who are disobedient. 7 Therefore do not be partners with them. For you were once darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Live as children of light 9 (for the fruit of the light consists in all goodness, righteousness and truth) 10 and find out what pleases the Lord. 11 Have nothing to do with the fruitless deeds of darkness, but rather expose them. 12 It is shameful even to mention what the disobedient do in secret. 13 But everything exposed by the light becomes visible—and everything that is illuminated becomes a light.

This is a good passage concerning how we should live – how we should walk. We were all once sinners outside of grace. Now – those who have received Christ as Lord and Savior are sinners saved by grace. If we are saved – we should act accordingly – striving more and more each day to walk the path that Christ set before us.

If Christ is our light – we should walk not in the darkness – but rather in the light that Christ shines on us. John 8:12When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”

Let us walk in the light as He is in the light – as He is the light! Let our light – the light of Christ – shine before others that they will see Jesus! Matthew 5:16 – In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven. Let us live as children of light – not darkness.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

March 22, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, From the Pastor, Leadership, Lenten Thought, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

