Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Do We Lack Wisdom? Just Ask God!

James 1:5

If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you.

112015 Ray McDonaldOK – as I’m writing this devotional thought – the Orioles’ opening game is in a rain delay.   It looks like it will begin at 4:45 pm. I hope they can play long enough to win! I’ve been to several Home Openers and enjoy them but didn’t try to get tickets this year for some reason. Not sure if this can be called wisdom or not. I’m safe and dry and in my easy chair as I type and listen to the pre-game stuff. I have friends who are at the game as the rain falls and the temps drop! One just twitted to me that he was working in the stands (after I twitted that I was working from home).

As the season unfolds we will be in a better place to know if the front office had wisdom or not in putting together this year’s team. They should score lots of runs – I just hope the pitching holds up! We know the defense will be golden! The game is about to start! The first pitch is a – wait for it – a tough pop up to the short stop! Wow – the wind really blew it around! We have four starters with gold gloves in the past and two that should get them soon. (To of the first inning went one – two – three – go O’s.)

As a pastor – I often get asked for advice. Not sure I have much wisdom – on my own – but I do pray that God will give me the wisdom needed to help people. As a pastor I’m called on to help families and individuals going through life’s tough moments. I’ve been called out to the scenes of accidents and to the hospital after accidents. I’ve been called upon to help a family process some difficult decisions – even life altering decisions. Families have called on me as family members faced surgery – as they face life-ending moments. I must confess – I do not claim any wisdom of my own to help in these situations. I remember one time I was called to pray for a church member before life threatening surgery. As the member was about to go for the surgery I tried to pray. What happened next has helped me understand that it is all about God and not about me! I began to cry and couldn’t pray. I had known this member my whole life and it was an emotional moment for me as well as the family. The patient – the member – the life-long friend – medicated and ready for surgery – took my hand and prayed. After he finished I was able to pray – but – it was only because I asked God for the strength to offer words of comfort!

Ask God and God will answer dear readers. Let’s look at today’s passage in partial context. James 1:2–8 – 2 Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. 4 Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything. 5 If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you. 6 But when you ask, you must believe and not doubt, because the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. 7 That person should not expect to receive anything from the Lord. 8 Such a person is double-minded and unstable in all they do.

If we lack wisdom – we only need to ask God and God will give it to us! I like this promise. I need this promise. How about you dear reader? Are there times you might need some wisdom from above? Ask for wisdom and it will be given unto you! Do not doubt – but believe!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

April 5, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Marriage, Personal, Theology | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

