Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

It’s All About Relationships

1 Peter 3:9

Do not repay evil with evil or insult with insult, but with blessing, because to this you were called so that you may inherit a blessing.

112015 Ray McDonaldIt’s all about relationships!  The older I get – the more years I have been in ministry (40 full years this summer) – the more life I live – the more I am convinced it is all about relationships.

It’s all about relationships!  Our relationship with Jesus is not about the dos and don’ts.  It is not about how often we attend worship.  It is not about what we give to the church.  It is not about how often we sin or how little we sin.  All of these are measurable things for sure and Christians will strive to lessen sin in their lives.  Christians will attend worship – as often as possible – to be in the fellowship of other believers and to praise God (and worship is not just done in the Sanctuary on Sundays).  Christians re called to tithe and give even more to the poor and the needy.

It’s all about relationships!  Our relationship with Jesus is just that – it is about our relationship.  Our prayer life is our lifeline – our communication with God.  Our devotional life is the foundation of our relationship with Jesus.  How much time we spend and the quality of that time is so important.

It’s all about relationships!  Here is today’s passage in partial context.  1 Peter 3:8-12 – 8 Finally, all of you, live in harmony with one another; be sympathetic, love as brothers, be compassionate and humble. 9 Do not repay evil with evil or insult with insult, but with blessing, because to this you were called so that you may inherit a blessing. 10 For,”Whoever would love life and see good days must keep his tongue from evil and his lips from deceitful speech. 11 He must turn from evil and do good; he must seek peace and pursue it. 12 For the eyes of the Lord are on the righteous and his ears are attentive to their prayer, but the face of the Lord is against those who do evil.”

It’s all about relationships!  Today I was thinking about the leaders at First Church and wondering how I could improve my relationship with them and how I could help to enhance their relationship with Jesus.  How can we be more of one accord as the sisters and brothers at Pentecost? How can we – collectively – reach the community for Jesus in a more effective manner? What would draw us together – so that we could draw others to Christ?

It’s all about relationships!  How can we work together in such a way that others want the relationship we have with Jesus?  How can we model our love for Jesus in such a way that others desire to have a relationship like ours?

As I visited yesterday with a leader in our church in the hospital – I thought to myself – how could I show this person my love for Jesus?  How could I help to build his relationship with Jesus?  How could I help to boast our relationship together so that together we might work to draw others to Christ?  I don’t suggest that I have the answers to my questions – but – I am seeking God’s answer.  Join me!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

April 13, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, From the Pastor, Holy Spirit, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Send, Theology, Worship | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

