Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Do You Remember The Good Old Days?

Acts 2:46

Every day they continued to meet together in the temple courts. They broke bread in their homes and ate together with glad and sincere hearts,

112015 Ray McDonaldOriole BirdDo you remember the good old days? Do you remember back in 1966 when the Baltimore Orioles won 97 regular season games and went on to beat the LA Dodgers in 4 straight games in the World Series? I was 11 years old that summer and it was my second year of really following the team. The team was fairly young with players like Frank Robinson (30) – Brooks Robinson (29) – Boog Powell (24) – Davey Johnson (23) – Paul Blair (22) – Mark Belanger (22) – Jim Palmer (20) – Dave McNally (23) – and a mixture of other players older and younger. Some of them were the core players to several great teams through the 70’s. It was the good old days.

Do you remember the good old days? On Pandora you can create your own listening channels. My wife wonders why I listen to James Taylor – Stevie Wonder – Motown – Randy Travis – Chicago – Harry Chapin – Rod Stewart – Neil Young – Bob Dylan – 70’s Lite Rock – and others. It is the type of music I grew up on and I enjoy listening to it. It was the good old days.

Do you remember the good old days? I met my mechanic – a dear friend – when I went into the establishment where he worked. I had bought an old Pinto Station Wagon from my brother-in-law and it needed some major engine work. My brother helped me take it a part (in other words he did it and I helped him). We took the head into Woody to repair it. It wasn’t long before I had that car running. It took me to seminary. I use to dive into the driver’s seat because the door wouldn’t open. I had the door replaced and got an Earl Shives paint job. I put new carpet in it and had a car that lasted me well into my married life and early ministry. It was the good old days.

Do you remember the good old days? In the early Christian church – God seemed to be more present in the lives of the disciples – the followers of Christ. We read of the powerful ways in which the Spirit led them. We read how they grew by the thousands and grew in spiritual power. In the church today we often struggle with getting a few new members per year (some churches don’t get any). Has God changed that much some might ask? I say it isn’t God that has changed but the people who say they follow after Christ.

Do you remember the good old days? Here is today’s passage in partial context. Acts 2:42–47 – 42 They devoted themselves to the apostles’ teaching and to fellowship, to the breaking of bread and to prayer. 43 Everyone was filled with awe at the many wonders and signs performed by the apostles. 44 All the believers were together and had everything in common. 45 They sold property and possessions to give to anyone who had need. 46 Every day they continued to meet together in the temple courts. They broke bread in their homes and ate together with glad and sincere hearts, 47 praising God and enjoying the favor of all the people. And the Lord added to their number daily those who were being saved.

Do you remember the good old days? Maybe the difference is how devoted the early disciples were to Christ. Maybe today – Christ is not first in our lives – but rather just another part of our lives? I’m not sure for each person – but I know for me – I could be more devoted. Whenever I seem to think God is far off – I’m always quick to acknowledge that I’m the one that walked away – not God.

Do you remember the good old days? A mountain top experience you shared? A revival or spiritual conference you attended? Ever wonder why when we devote ourselves more fully to Christ – Christ seems to be closer to us? No big secret here sisters and brothers. The presence of God in our lives is directly related to the devotion we express in Him.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

April 18, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Holy Spirit, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

