Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

My Soul Thirsts For God

Psalm 42:2

My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When can I go and meet with God?

112015 Ray McDonaldHave you ever thirsted for something? I’ve fasted from things during Lent before and for other reasons. I have thirsted or hungered for them. When we do without something for a period of time and we desire that something – we hunger or thirst for it.

Were you ready for the current baseball season to start? In a way – did you thirst for some baseball? I know some people who are already counting down the days until College Football or the NFL returns. What about thirsting for a Stanley Cup in DC?

If married – is there a yearning for your spouse when you are away for some time? I have a hard time being away from my spouse for even a day (we both work outside the home and the time a part is not fun). Some day – when we both retire – we might get tired of being around each other so much – but until then – I will continue to thirst for her company during the day! I text her several times a day to let her know I miss her.

Do we hunger and thirst after God? In today’s passage the Psalmist talks about thirsting for God. Here is today’s passage in partial context. Psalm 42:1–4 – As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, my God. 2 My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When can I go and meet with God? 3 My tears have been my food day and night, while people say to me all day long, “Where is your God?” These things I remember as I pour out my soul: how I used to go to the house of God under the protection of the Mighty One with shouts of joy and praise among the festive throng.

Do we hunger and thirst after God? We hunger and thirst for food and for sports and for our spouses – but what about for God? Jesus says in Matthew 5:6 – Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled. Do we hunger and thirst after God? Do we hunger and thirst after righteousness – after God’s will in our lives?

The Psalmist says – as the deer pants for water – so our soul should pant for God. In the church today – are we seeking after God and God’s will with all that we have and all that we are? Jesus says in Mark 12:30 – that we are to Love the Lord our God with all our heart and with all our soul and with all our mind and with all our strength. 

Oh what God could do with a people who truly hunger and thirst after Him and His will! The world we live in – the world that surrounded us – would be different – because of the hunger and thirst of the people of God for God and God’s will. Too often – IMHO (in my humble opinion) – the people of God are lackadaisical when it comes to our desire – our hunger and thirst – for God. Too often – again IMHO – we are often of no use to God. Our Christians behavior often lacks the heart sold out for Jesus – like recorded in Amos – when the prophet wrote the words that God will declare to those who only showed their love for Him outwardly – rather than from the heart. Amos 5:18–27 – 18 Woe to you who long for the day of the Lord! Why do you long for the day of the Lord? That day will be darkness, not light. 19 It will be as though a man fled from a lion only to meet a bear, as though he entered his house and rested his hand on the wall only to have a snake bite him. 20 Will not the day of the Lord be darkness, not light— pitch-dark, without a ray of brightness? 21 “I hate, I despise your religious festivals; your assemblies are a stench to me. 22 Even though you bring me burnt offerings and grain offerings, I will not accept them. Though you bring choice fellowship offerings, I will have no regard for them. 23 Away with the noise of your songs! I will not listen to the music of your harps. 24 But let justice roll on like a river, righteousness like a never-failing stream! 25 “Did you bring me sacrifices and offerings forty years in the wilderness, people of Israel? 26 You have lifted up the shrine of your king, the pedestal of your idols, the star of your god— which you made for yourselves. 27 Therefore I will send you into exile beyond Damascus,” says the Lord, whose name is God Almighty.

God isn’t interested in our show of faith. God is interested in our heart – in our being sold out for Him – in our hunger and thirst after Him. God knows if He has our heart – He will have those other things as a response to our love. The reason we walk the Christian life is SO VERY IMPORTANT to God. Matthew 7:21–23 – 21 “Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only the one who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. 22 Many will say to me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name and in your name drive out demons and in your name perform many miracles?’ 23 Then I will tell them plainly, ‘I never knew you. Away from me, you evildoers!’

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

April 20, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Marriage, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Theology, Worship | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

