Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Put God’s Words Into Practice

Matthew 7:24

Therefore everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice is like a wise man who built his house on the rock.

DadI was thinking of my dad the other day. In a few months – it will be four years since he passed. I can’t believe how fast the time has gone. I miss him so. He taught me many things – even things I am still learning today. As his words echo in my ears – in my mind – I am guided in life to be a better man – a better husband – a better pastor – a better father. Is there anyone like that in your life?

Many of us have coaches or teachers or parents or close friends who have given us advice and guiding words in our lives. We often remember them and think of those persons fondly. I still remember a close friend – Harry – who poured into my life for many years. He took time to guide me in my developing years as a youth and young adult. A close friend – Brad – also was significant in my life – may he rest in peace.

Today’s passage speaks about God’s words and how we need to put them into practice. Here is today’s passage in partial context. Matthew 7:24–29 – 24 “Therefore everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice is like a wise man who built his house on the rock. 25 The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house; yet it did not fall, because it had its foundation on the rock. 26 But everyone who hears these words of mine and does not put them into practice is like a foolish man who built his house on sand. 27 The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house, and it fell with a great crash.” 28 When Jesus had finished saying these things, the crowds were amazed at his teaching, 29 because he taught as one who had authority, and not as their teachers of the law.

Jesus – in John 14:15 said If you love me, keep my commands. How are we doing with that? Are we obeying the words of God? Are we putting God’s words into practice?

My dad – my friends – teachers – and coaches – helped to establish groundwork – a foundation – for me as I grew. But none were as important as the teachings of God found in The Bible. We can learn much from others but we can learn more from God through His Holy Word.

As we learn God’s word – we also need to put them into practice. It is not good enough to be a student of the word and not a practitioner of the Word as well. Jesus’ brother wrote in James 1:22 the following Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says. We need to put God’s words into practice in our lives. We need to witness to others how important God’s word is to us! Let us live what we read!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

April 22, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

