Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

The Lord Is Our Lamp

2 Samuel 22:29

You, Lord, are my lamp; the Lord turns my darkness into light.

112015 Ray McDonaldI have a thing about light switches. If the lights are off – the switch needs to be down – even if there are two or three switches that run the same light – they all need to be in the right position. I know – I have issues. I will walk through a dark room in order to hit the switch on the other side of the room or to keep the switches in the right position. I will turn our kitchen light on and go to the other side of the room to turn it off (to get the switches in the right position) – and then walk through the dark kitchen. It is a wonder I like Sheldon Cooper on The Big Bang Theory?

I’m so glad my cell phone has a flashlight on it. It has helped me many times coming through the basement – with very little natural light and few switches! At least the upstairs has lots of natural light sources and unless it is night – I can see where I am going.

Have you ever had a dark moment in your spiritual life? A time when you were lost or troubled? Have you ever asked God for help during these dark moments? Today’s passage speaks about the Lord being a lamp. Here is today’s passage in partial context. 2 Samuel 22:26–32 – 26 “To the faithful you show yourself faithful, to the blameless you show yourself blameless, 27 to the pure you show yourself pure, but to the devious you show yourself shrewd. 28 You save the humble, but your eyes are on the haughty to bring them low. 29 You, Lord, are my lamp; the Lord turns my darkness into light. 30 With your help I can advance against a troop; with my God I can scale a wall. 31 “As for God, his way is perfect: The Lord’s word is flawless; he shields all who take refuge in him. 32 For who is God besides the Lord? And who is the Rock except our God?

Have you ever used a strong lamp in the darkness? I bought my two strong flashlights – real powerful ones – for safety. They are really strong and could shine in the darkness. 2 Samuel calls the Lord a lamp and the Psalmist calls God’s word a lamp as well. Psalm 119:105 – Your word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path.

If we are in the dark – spiritually – we should turn to our lamp – Jesus Christ.

My hope is that General Conference in May will seek Christ for light and understanding in the darkness of our theological divide. I pray that we will remain focused on Jesus and not on the social climate around us – the politically correct world around us.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

April 26, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Denomination, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

