Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Let Our Light Shine Before Others

Matthew 5:16

In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.

112015 Ray McDonaldAs a pastor’s son – a PK (pastor’s kid) – I always had to be on guard around people. Some were looking for ways to get the pastor’s kid to make mistakes so they could run it in the pastor’s face (or so it seemed). I remember once – in a bowling league – someone treated our team to a round of sodas (we all have marks in a certain frame). I was keeping score and so they brought my soda to me at the scorer’s table. As I raised the cup to my mouth – something didn’t smell right so I put it back down. Later the person who bought the drinks asked me why I wasn’t drinking mine – which made me weary. Later – on a food run – I noticed a small empty vodka bottle near where this person sat. I believe this person was trying to get the PK to drink (I was under age at the time). We must all be no guard – it seems – at all times. Our witness can be damaged in a twinkle of an eye.

I remembering when I was a young adult – going into a bar/restaurant in downtown Annapolis with some of my friends. They went in for a drink – I went in to be with my friends. I hung with them – trying to show them one didn’t need to drink to have a good time. A few times I had to drive them home. I tried to let my light shine – so that Christ could be seen (not always of course – I had my issues).

How can we let our light shine before others that they may see Jesus in us? What good deeds have we done that reflect Jesus?

For many years I traveled to Appalachia with our ASP ministry team – striving to let our light so shine before others that they would see Jesus. I supported an ASP team today by playing in a golf tournament. I’m from Appalachia and it always feels good to help others in need from back home and beyond.

I have a friend who has dedicated much of his life to helping those in need in Haiti. He serves a hospital and school in Haiti and takes several mission trips there each year in retirement from parish ministry. I have deep respect for him and have traveled with him on one of his trips. He is letting his light so shine before others!

Here is today’s passage in partial context. Matthew 5:13–16 – 13 “You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled underfoot. 14 “You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. 15 Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. 16 In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven. Let our light so shine before others – that they will see Jesus in us and come to glorify Him.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

May 3, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

