Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

I Now Consider Loss For The Sake Of Christ

Philippians 3:7

But whatever were gains to me I now consider loss for the sake of Christ.

112015 Ray McDonaldThose of us who are parents have probably experienced doing without so that our children might have something or the other. Like going without a meal so our children could eat. Like wearing an old dress another year so the children could have a new outfit for school. Like driving an old car – one that might even embarrass the children – so they could have sports gear and some of their school dreams. We could give other examples for sure.

We could have easily gotten what we wanted – or dreamed about – or desired. Instead – we sacrificed so our children could have more than they needed – have some of their wants. I remember those days – days my wife and I sacrificed for our children. As a matter of fact – those days continue for our children and our grandchildren it seems. Paul writes – whatever were gains to me I now consider loss. Of course he was writing about the things of this life that he had gained being sacrificed for the things of God. His willingness to sacrifice for the sake of the Kingdom of God is what we should all strive to emulate I believe.

Here is today’s passage in partial context. Philippians 3:7–11 – But whatever were gains to me I now consider loss for the sake of Christ. 8 What is more, I consider everything a loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them garbage, that I may gain Christ 9 and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which is through faith in Christ—the righteousness that comes from God on the basis of faith. 10 I want to know Christ—yes, to know the power of his resurrection and participation in his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, 11 and so, somehow, attaining to the resurrection from the dead.

Paul was a person – a highly educated person – who was also high up in church (Jewish) leadership. He was a Jews – Jew. Yet he was willing to sacrifice it all for the sake of knowing Christ. He went so far as to say that all he had and all he learned/earned was garbage or in another translation rubbish – compared to knowing Christ.

In our devotion to Christ – what are we willing to deny ourselves so that we might deepen our relationship with Christ? Are we willing to put aside ourselves – to follow Jesus? Are we willing to call all that we have learned/earned and call it garbage – if it were to get in the way of our walk with Christ?

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

May 9, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

