Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Watch My Mouth O Lord (And My Posts On Social Media Too)

Psalm 141:3

Set a guard over my mouth, Lord; keep watch over the door of my lips.

IMG_0435-0I wonder – have we ever said something we wish we hadn’t? I imagine the answer to that would be a resounding yes. Most of us – if not all of us – have said some things we wish we could take back. In marriage – for instance – once something has been said – one can never unsay it. One can be forgiven – but one can never unsay it.

During this season of the 2016 Presidential elections – most candidates have made some comments I bet they wish they could take back or rephrase. Some more than others and some may even play off of being shocking in what they say. Some even try to erase what they say or post or e-mail.

I wonder – have we ever said something at work or at home that has come back to haunt us? Maybe in an interview for a promotion or for a job we said something that kept us from getting the promotion or job? Maybe in the heat of an argument or discussion – we have said something at home we wish we could suck back into our mouths!

I serve a very diverse congregation and have friends and colleagues that are very diverse. Some post their positions or thoughts about the candidates running for office – even insinuating that persons who may disagree with them are not intelligent or enlightened not a Christian or just out of touch.

I think this might happen in the United Methodist Church (and other denominations) when we discuss subjects where we disagree. We think that our well thought out positions are right and anyone who cannot agree with our reasoning – well – it is just hard to believe they couldn’t.

I’m all for open discussion and even agreeing to disagree. Where I have trouble (and I have been guilty of it) is when we belittle those who disagree with us (on whatever the issue). We do not make gains by belittling others – even if we think we have won by doing so.

By the way – I wish we had another choice – another electable choice – for President. I do not have a lot of faith in either candidate – both are flawed – in major ways – IMHO. I know I will vote and I know I will have to decide who will get my vote – but right now – I’m just not very happy with my choices. It is almost like I will be forced to vote for the candidate I think will do the least amount of damage to our nation for 4-8 years in the White House. Whomever is elected – for instance – will probably replace 2-4 Supreme Court Justices and that could have a major impact on our nation.

Today’s passage says – Psalm 141:3 – Set a guard over my mouth, Lord; keep watch over the door of my lips. Here it is in partial context. Psalm 141:1–4 – I call to you, Lord, come quickly to me; hear me when I call to you. 2 May my prayer be set before you like incense; may the lifting up of my hands be like the evening sacrifice. Set a guard over my mouth, Lord; keep watch over the door of my lips. 4 Do not let my heart be drawn to what is evil so that I take part in wicked deeds along with those who are evildoers; do not let me eat their delicacies.

I wish the Christian brothers and sisters around me (and me as well) would consider that others are watching and listening to us. I wish we could all prayerfully consider what we say and what we post. I wish we would take more time in prayer before we open our mouths or hit send. Lord – guard my mouth and my posts! May I always remember that I represent You in what I say and what I post!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

June 14, 2016 - Posted by | Daily Devotion | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

