Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Complete Joy

John 15:11

I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete.

IMG_0435-0Dear readers – have you ever experience joy that you felt was complete? I’ve experienced joyful moments before – I imagine most of us have in our lifetime. But complete joy may be something that some have never experienced. We might experience moments of happiness – but joy is something spiritual.

There always seems to be something that deflates our joy or happiness. For instance – the Capitals won the President’s Trophy with the best record in the regular season this year – a lot of people were happy! But they were ousted from the playoffs and failed to win the Stanley Cup – deflated joy or happiness.

I’ve heard of couples that were filled with joy/happiness for their wedding and even during the honeymoon period only to have their joy/happiness tempered or deflated when the honeymoon was over and stuff began to happen.

Here’s today passage in partial context. John 15:9–17 – 9 “As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love. 10 If you keep my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commands and remain in his love. 11 I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete. 12 My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you. 13 Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends. 14 You are my friends if you do what I command. 15 I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master’s business. Instead, I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you. 16 You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you so that you might go and bear fruit—fruit that will last—and so that whatever you ask in my name the Father will give you. 17 This is my command: Love each other.

I like that last command – Love each other. The Bible tells us that love covers all – Proverbs 10:12 – Hatred stirs up conflict, but love covers over all wrongs. If we practiced loving one another more – we might be able to experience real joy (over momentary happiness) and remain joyous more often. Remember the old saying – Happiness is circumstantially driven – while joy is spiritually derived. The circumstances change – often day-to-day or even moment-by-moment – so happiness is up and down. Joy on the other hand is supposed to be long lasting – even complete – if our focus is on Jesus and we practice loving one another.

Complete joy comes from our love of God and our love of others. If God’s love lives in us – we have as chance to experience complete joy. Without that love – complete joy is just something we read about!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

June 17, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, From the Pastor, Leadership, Marriage, Outreach, Personal, Sermons, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

