Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Keeping Our Eyes On The Lord

Psalm 16:8

I keep my eyes always on the Lord. With him at my right hand, I will not be shaken.

RevRayMcWhen I was growing up – learning to play baseball – I was told many times – hitting or catching – to keep my eyes on the ball. Watch the ball all the way to the glove or to the bat! Keep your eyes on the ball was a common phrase. In many sports – keeping your eye on the ball or the goal is important.

When I was growing up – setting goals for my life – I was often told to – keep my eye on the goal. When it took me five years to get through four years of college (working my way through school – paying my way as I went – working several jobs) – I was reminded by my dad to keep my eyes on the goal of graduating.

When I was growing up – I often had to look down the road at goals I had set – to keep focused. I imagine I am not alone. I imagine that many of us set goals and aimed at them in life.

In today’s passage we are reminded to keep our eyes always on the Lord. As our faith develops – keeping focused on Jesus is what we are called to do. Here is today’s passage in partial context. Psalm 16:1-11 – 1 Keep me safe, my God, for in you I take refuge. 2 I say to the Lord, “You are my Lord; apart from you I have no good thing.” 3 I say of the holy people who are in the land, “They are the noble ones in whom is all my delight.” 4 Those who run after other gods will suffer more and more. I will not pour out libations of blood to such gods or take up their names on my lips. Lord, you alone are my portion and my cup; you make my lot secure. The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; surely I have a delightful inheritance. 7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me. I keep my eyes always on the Lord. With him at my right hand, I will not be shaken. Therefore my heart is glad and my tongue rejoices; my body also will rest secure, 10 because you will not abandon me to the realm of the dead, nor will you let your faithful one see decay. 11 You make known to me the path of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand.

Keeping our eyes on Jesus is essential. Just ask Peter what it means to keep his eyes on Jesus. Matthew 14:25–32 – 25 Shortly before dawn Jesus went out to them, walking on the lake. 26 When the disciples saw him walking on the lake, they were terrified. “It’s a ghost,” they said, and cried out in fear. 27 But Jesus immediately said to them: “Take courage! It is I. Don’t be afraid.” 28 “Lord, if it’s you,” Peter replied, “tell me to come to you on the water.” 29 “Come,” he said. Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus. 30 But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!” 31 Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. “You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?” 32 And when they climbed into the boat, the wind died down.

Keeping our eyes on Jesus is essential – staying focused on the Lord! If we take our eyes off of Jesus and place them on the storm around us – we will surely sink into the depths of life. I have faced a number of storms in my life – as I know others have as well. It is not easy to keep one’s eyes on Jesus when the storm is raging around us. When life is throwing us curves and the world we live in is being shaken – our eyes often wander – but – we are called to focus on Jesus. If we focus on Jesus – Jesus will save us! But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!” Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. “You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?” Let us not doubt when the storms rage but let us keep our eyes on the Lord.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

June 30, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

