Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

The Right Tool For The Job

2 Peter 1:3

(God’s) divine power has given us everything we need for a godly life through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness.

Photo on 7-6-16 at 3.42 PMI’m not very good with my hands. My wife hangs the pictures in our house and does most of the handy work. I cut the grass and keep the outside clean. I do the dishes (most of the time). I make the bed (many mornings). I do the things that we either have the right equipment to accomplish or the task is a no brainer. I’m challenged when it comes to doing certain tasks (or so I say so my wife does them – lol).

My dad used to always say – the right tool for the job makes the job easier. Dad passed his mechanical genes to my brother. My father-in-law was an organized man and used tools too. He had his tools drawn on the wall where each one went (on hooks). He always knew where his tools were – or at least when one was missing. He never had to ask me if I took one!!

I remember when cars were easier to work on (or when most of us could do the simple tasks ourselves). I had a hard time adjusting the distributer cap on one car because I couldn’t get my hand and my wrench in the right spot to adjust the bolt at the base. I tried and I tried to adjust the bolt but couldn’t get my hand and arm in the right position. I asked a friend – after hours of trying – and he told me there was a special tool for that job. It was a wrench with a long stem that bent at just the right places to reach the bolt in question (the right tool for the job.)

God has promised us that He will give us everything (the right tools) we need to follow Him (accomplish the job at hand). Here is today’s passage in partial context. 2 Peter 1:3–9 – 3 His divine power has given us everything we need for a godly life through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness. Through these he has given us his very great and precious promises, so that through them you may participate in the divine nature, having escaped the corruption in the world caused by evil desires. For this very reason, make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge; and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness; and to godliness, mutual affection; and to mutual affection, love. 8 For if you possess these qualities in increasing measure, they will keep you from being ineffective and unproductive in your knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. But whoever does not have them is nearsighted and blind, forgetting that they have been cleansed from their past sins.

God has promised and has given us – made the right tools available to us – all that we need to live for God and live under His grace. We cannot do so outside of His presence in our lives – outside of His Lordship of our lives. If we surrender to Him – we will have everything needed to be faithful in this life.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

July 11, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I can relate to this. My Dad was a Mr Fix-it-or-make-a-new-one (if possible).
    He had a wood working/metal working workshop. I’d help where I could (not very often could I help. Mostly I’d be in the way). Not much rubbed off on me other than simple tasks.
    Now my excuse would be ” I doubt if I have the right tools” – knowledge of how to do the task!

    Like

    Comment by Steve Noyes | July 12, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

