Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Being Content

Philippians 4:11

I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances.

Photo on 7-6-16 at 3.42 PMHave we ever been content? At times being content might take away from our drive – our desire to accomplish more. But the contentment that Paul is writing about in today’s passage has to do with things – learning to be content with the things we have or don’t have.

With one church I served – we went to Appalachia each summer. We sent teams to ASP (Appalachia Service Project). We learned just how much we had and how much we take for granted.

I remember working on a coal miner’s shack that a family had made their home. The outside boards had big gaps between them and the Tennessee winter winds and cold made it very hard. They had a pot belly wood stove in the middle of this shack and the ceiling above it was black from how hot they had to keep the fire to offset the winter cold. In this home we put in insulation and drywall and tried to help them stay warmer in the winter. It was a small help – yet they were very appreciative of our efforts.

At our current church location – a small city with many people in economic need – we find people who are homeless and people who are living below the poverty level. We also have people who are fighting addictions and life altering health issues. We try to help when we can – at times it seems to make an impact – at times it doesn’t.

How much is enough? At what point of blessing – would we be ready to say enough and share the remainder with those in need around us? If God blessed us with a certain income – would we be willing to share the rest with others in need or simply build bigger storehouses to hold our wealth?

What is it that we need? It has to be less than we want for sure. Here’s today’s passage in partial context. Philippians 4:10–20 – 10 I rejoiced greatly in the Lord that at last you renewed your concern for me. Indeed, you were concerned, but you had no opportunity to show it. 11 I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. 12 I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. 13 I can do all this through him who gives me strength. 14 Yet it was good of you to share in my troubles. 15 Moreover, as you Philippians know, in the early days of your acquaintance with the gospel, when I set out from Macedonia, not one church shared with me in the matter of giving and receiving, except you only; 16 for even when I was in Thessalonica, you sent me aid more than once when I was in need. 17 Not that I desire your gifts; what I desire is that more be credited to your account. 18 I have received full payment and have more than enough. I am amply supplied, now that I have received from Epaphroditus the gifts you sent. They are a fragrant offering, an acceptable sacrifice, pleasing to God. 19 And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus. 20 To our God and Father be glory for ever and ever. Amen.

In this affluent world we live in – we should all take a look at what blessings we have and we might use that which is more than we need to help others. East said – hard to do – for sure. Learning to be content with our needs met – is not easy for most of us. We want more and more. Maybe we should practice being content more?

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

July 12, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

