Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Where Do We Pray?

Matthew 14:23

After he had dismissed them, he went up on a mountainside by himself to pray. Later that night, he was there alone,

Photo on 7-6-16 at 3.42 PMI remember when I was a teenager (or preteen maybe) – the church we attended (Seat Pleasant UMC) had a month-long prayer vigil. I signed up for a certain time every afternoon. I remember going to the chapel of our church where the prayer room was set up and spending thirty minutes every afternoon reading my Bible and praying. At first it was difficult – but as the month unfolded before me – it became easier and easier and when someone came to relieve me – I often stayed a few extra minutes to finish what I was reading or what I was on my heart as I prayed. It started for me a regular prayer time.

Where do we pray? This is not a trick question. I know we can pray wherever or whenever. It has been my experience that if we have a time or place to go – we can develop a habit that will bear much fruit. I know some people who start their morning at the kitchen table or during nice weather on their porch or patio soaking in the presence of God and spending time in devotion and prayer. Do we have a time and place? In years gone by – one of my favorite places was in a deer stand – way too early to shoot – and spending that time in God’s presence – praying and listening.

Try setting a time and place for prayer. Try finding a comfortable place to spend time in devotion and prayer. I believe it will bear much fruit. It will help us in our decision-making and lessen our stress – as we spend significant – planned time with God.

Here is today’s passage in partial context. Matthew 14:22–33 – 22 Immediately Jesus made the disciples get into the boat and go on ahead of him to the other side, while he dismissed the crowd. 23 After he had dismissed them, he went up on a mountainside by himself to pray. Later that night, he was there alone, 24 and the boat was already a considerable distance from land, buffeted by the waves because the wind was against it. 25 Shortly before dawn Jesus went out to them, walking on the lake. 26 When the disciples saw him walking on the lake, they were terrified. “It’s a ghost,” they said, and cried out in fear. 27 But Jesus immediately said to them: “Take courage! It is I. Don’t be afraid.” 28 “Lord, if it’s you,” Peter replied, “tell me to come to you on the water.” 29 “Come,” he said. Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus. 30 But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!” 31 Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. “You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?” 32 And when they climbed into the boat, the wind died down. 33 Then those who were in the boat worshiped him, saying, “Truly you are the Son of God.”

I included the last part of the passage to remind us what happened right after Christ’s time of prayer and devotion – He went up on a mountainside by Himself to pray. I believe that in order to do amazing things for God – we need to spend significant time with Him. Our prayer life needs to be significant in order to do things thought impossible. Remember what Jesus told His disciples – John 14:12 – Very truly I tell you, whoever believes in me will do the works I have been doing, and they will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father.

A question I often ask – How’s your prayer life? I believe that an increased prayer life will translate into God’s action in our lives. Today I ask – where do we pray? I believe having a set aside place is important.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

July 14, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

