Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Why Am I United Methodist Today?

Mark 1:17

“Come, follow me,” Jesus said, “and I will send you out to fish for people.”

Photo on 7-6-16 at 3.42 PMIn today’s climate – this might be a very serious question. Why Am I a United Methodist today?

This is a simple question but it might have complicated answers. Let’s look at a few.

One might answer – because the church I go to is United Methodist. It is the church closest to my home or the church I have always attended. I really haven’t thought of why before but maybe I should.

One might answer – because I grew up in the United Methodist Church. It is the church my parents attended and I have just never thought much about changing or trying another church.

One might answer – because I believe in the method of their theological discernment. Now we’re starting to dive a little deeper. Have any of us thought this deep about our relationship with the denomination we attend.

One might answer – I don’t know! This might be a more common answer than we would like.

One might answer – United Methodist?  You mean I’m United Methodist?

What are the good points of United Methodism as part of the Christian faith?  What are the points that aren’t so good?  IYHO (In your humble opinion) – give your thoughts.

First UMC is a Christian Church that is part of the United Methodist Denomination.  That has its pluses and minuses for sure.

This post is not meant to be a praise the denomination or tear it down post but rather I’m interested in what people think about our denomination. (maybe – like one of the responses above – you simply saw us as a Christian church and denomination hasn’t entered your thinking.) What are some of the things we believe in that you believe in? What are some of the things you disagree with as you process your theology? What keeps you here and what might send you looking for another church?

Here is today’s passage in partial context. Mark 1:16-20 – 16 As Jesus walked beside the Sea of Galilee, he saw Simon and his brother Andrew casting a net into the lake, for they were fishermen. 17 “Come, follow me,” Jesus said, “and I will send you out to fish for people.” 18 At once they left their nets and followed him. 19 When he had gone a little farther, he saw James son of Zebedee and his brother John in a boat, preparing their nets. 20 Without delay he called them, and they left their father Zebedee in the boat with the hired men and followed him.

So be gentle and bold at the same time – and try to back up some of your comments. What helps you to follow Jesus – as found in the United Methodist Church?

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

July 22, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Denomination, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. The Methodist Church was my family’s Church and it is where I am first began my relationship with our Lord. I am still seeking to follow Jesus, his commandments and his call on my life. Wow, what a ride. I am far from perfect but I left the church as I experienced the ” Holy Ghost, Holy Spirit” or as some say the presence of God.
    This relationship with my Father God was not being taught when I was apart of the United Methodist. I am fond of the United Methodist because it is where I first came to Christ.

    Like

    Comment by Beryl Chase | July 23, 2016 | Reply

    • Some UM Churches teach about the Holy Spirit Beryl. Thanks for your comment and your friendship from High School…

      Like

      Comment by raymcdonald | July 23, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

