Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Let Jesus Light The Way

Psalm 27:1

The Lord is my light and my salvation— whom shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life— of whom shall I be afraid?

Photo on 7-6-16 at 3.42 PMHave we ever walked in the darkness? I am one of those people who must have the light switches going in the correct direction (up in on – down is off). With that said – you know I have stumbled through a dark room so I wouldn’t get the light switches in the wrong position. Crazy – right?

Have we ever walked in the darkness? I’m so thankful my cell phone has a flashlight on it. I use it often (see above paragraph) while walking in darkness – inside and outside. I only have one switch in part of my basement and when the light is off and it is dark outside – I need the flashlight in order to walk through till I get to the switch (which is always up for on and down for off). Having a light to shine in the darkness is important for sure.

Have we ever walked in the darkness? Have we ever felt like we were lost – without focus – without a purpose? We can feel that way as an individual or a family or a church or even a country. Yesterday in worship at First UMC in Laurel I spoke a little about broken hearts. When we break up with a significant other – dating or in marriage – we often feel lost – walking in the darkness. Listen to the sermon for some suggestions on how to mend a broken heart (http://fumcl.org/sermons) (because it was VBS Sunday the sermon may not get uploaded until the middle of the week).

Have we ever walked in the darkness? Sin is often described as darkness. Have we ever walked in sin? Of course the answer must be yes – because we have all sinned and fallen short of the glory of God (Romans 3:23). Jesus is described as the light and anything opposed to the light is darkness. John – the beloved disciple put it this way. John 1:1–5 – 1 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. 2 He was with God in the beginning. Through him all things were made; without him nothing was made that has been made. In him was life, and that life was the light of all mankind. The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it. Jesus is the light we should seek to shine in the darkness that is often our lives.

Jesus is the light that has come to illuminate our path in life. Jesus has come to show us the way. In him was life, and that life was the light of all mankind. The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.

Here’s today’s passage in partial context. Psalm 27:1–4 – The Lord is my light and my salvation— whom shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life— of whom shall I be afraid? 2 When the wicked advance against me to devour me, it is my enemies and my foes who will stumble and fall. 3 Though an army besiege me, my heart will not fear; though war break out against me, even then I will be confident. 4 One thing I ask from the Lord, this only do I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to gaze on the beauty of the Lord and to seek him in his temple.

When we trust in Jesus – we will have the light of the world shining on our dark places helping us find the path to follow. One way to increase the light on our path is to dig into the Word of God. Psalm 119:105 – Your word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path. Let Jesus light the way in our life!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

July 25, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Sermons, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

