Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

2016 Presidential Election

Philippians 2:2

then make my joy complete by being like-minded, having the same love, being one in spirit and of one mind.

Photo on 7-6-16 at 3.42 PMLast night at the DNC Hillary Clinton was chosen as the Democratic nominee for President. According to posts by our new Bishop – and others – a historic event for sure. Donald Trump was chosen as the Republican nominee a couple of weeks ago. Darrell Castle is running from the Constitution Party of the U.S. Jill Stein is running from the Green Party. Gary Johnson is running from the Libertarian Party. There are others on some state ballots.

My hope is that each person running for President will refrain from negative advertising. I won’t hold my breath. Both of the major party candidates have already done a lot of mud slinging.

What I would like to hear are the plans of each candidate – if elected – to work on issues like the economy – national security – immigration – the Supreme Court – race relations – entitlement programs – the environment – and more. I’d much rather hear their agenda moving forward than to listen to them cutting down their counterparts.

Here is today’s passage in partial context. Philippians 2:1–4 – 1 Therefore if you have any encouragement from being united with Christ, if any comfort from his love, if any common sharing in the Spirit, if any tenderness and compassion, then make my joy complete by being like-minded, having the same love, being one in spirit and of one mind. 3 Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, 4 not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others.

My prayer is that the best candidate for our nation will be elected. I’m not confident this will take place – but it is my prayer. I’m still praying about where my vote will go. I’m seriously looking at all of the candidates I mentioned above in this article. I will vote! I encourage all of our readers to pray and vote.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

P.S. – If you were hoping I would support someone in my blog today – sorry to disappoint.

July 27, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Community, Daily Devotion, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Amen
    many people have died or suffered physical/mental disabilities during wars/conflicts to protect our right to vote, which should not be wasted; vote your conscience and your children’s future

    Like

    Comment by Richard Reynnells | July 27, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

