Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Let Us Be Encouraged!

1 Thessalonians 5:11

Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing.

RayMcDEncouragement is key to walking successfully in life. Most people like to be encouraged along life’s journey. Most people appreciate being encouraged. Let us get into the habit of encouraging one another!

When was the last time you were encouraged? I played basketball this week with some younger men – we play 2-3 times a week early in the morning. I’m one of the oldest guys out there and some of the guys are in their 20’s and 30’s and some are in their teens. Yet they rarely make me feel like an old man (except when I try to play defense against them and they blow by me). They pass me the ball from time to time and encourage me when I shoot (whether I make it or not). It is fun playing with them.

When was the last time you were encouraged? At work – has anyone given you an atta-boy or atta-girl lately? I have a number of staff members in the office where I work and I try to let them know – often – that they are doing a great job and we appreciate them. Even when I must point out some areas of growth – I try to do it by praising them first. No one likes to be beat down – daily – at work. We all like to be encouraged.

When was the last time you were encouraged? When I read the Bible I am both challenged and encouraged. I’m challenged by God’s call to love Him with my all and knowing that I fail often. I’m encouraged – knowing that when I fail – God’s grace is sufficient to cover my failures.

Here’s today’s passage in partial context. 1 Thessalonians 5:1–11 – 1 Now, brothers and sisters, about times and dates we do not need to write to you, 2 for you know very well that the day of the Lord will come like a thief in the night. 3 While people are saying, “Peace and safety”, destruction will come on them suddenly, as labor pains on a pregnant woman, and they will not escape. 4 But you, brothers and sisters, are not in darkness so that this day should surprise you like a thief. 5 You are all children of the light and children of the day. We do not belong to the night or to the darkness. So then, let us not be like others, who are asleep, but let us be awake and sober. 7 For those who sleep, sleep at night, and those who get drunk, get drunk at night. 8 But since we belong to the day, let us be sober, putting on faith and love as a breastplate, and the hope of salvation as a helmet. 9 For God did not appoint us to suffer wrath but to receive salvation through our Lord Jesus Christ. 10 He died for us so that, whether we are awake or asleep, we may live together with him. 11 Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing.

We are called and challenged to leave the life of darkness and seek after the Light. We are encouraged to be awake and sober. We are reminded that Christ died for us on the cross and we are called to encourage one another with this truth.

Hear (read) what I say (type) here today – Jesus died so that we might live. He gave His life that we might live eternally. Be encouraged – even as we sin from time to time – because if we are sincere in our faith and confess and repent of our sins – they are forgiven! Let us be encouraged. Let us encourage others!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

August 18, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

