Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

I Don’t Fully Understand God

Isaiah 55:8

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the Lord.

RayMcDI’m typing on a MacBook Pro at work. It is an amazing computer with technology I cannot completely understand. I have an iPad I used this morning to celebrate the life service for a 78-year-old woman. My iPhone connects to both of them – but don’t ask me how? The MacBook Pro is hardwired to a router that is connected to the modem we have for the Internet. Neither the iPad nor iPhone are hardwired – they both are connected through our Wi-Fi or through a cellular system. I’m not sure how it all works – but I use them all to write these daily devotions – preach each sermon – search the Bible – keep up with social media – send e-mails – and much more. The point is – I don’t have to understand something to get use out of it.

I’m very tech savvy using devices – but not too tech savvy with how things work. For instance – I use to work on my cars in the 70’s but haven’t tried since – as they have become more and more complicated. I have a friend who is an excellent mechanic and he has worked on my vehicles for going on 40 years now it seems.

I remember taking tubes out of my TV set and taking them to Radio Shack and testing them to see which one was burned out. I would by the one(s) that tested bad and replaced them and my set would work (now I’m really aging myself). I wouldn’t try to work on my new TV set. I would take it to a technician who knew what they were doing to repair it.

The point I’m trying to make this morning is – we don’t have to understand everything about something to get something out of it! I don’t fully understand my computers but I get great benefit from them. I’m not really sure how a microwave works – but I enjoy the quick way it heats my food. I do more than turn the key on my car – but if I had to fully understand how it operates in order to drive it – I wouldn’t be going very far.

Some people seem to be hesitant to trust God because they cannot fully understand God. Surprise – none of us will ever be able to fully understand God. Here is today’s passage in partial context. Isaiah 55:6-11 – Seek the Lord while he may be found; call on him while he is near. 7 Let the wicked forsake their ways and the unrighteous their thoughts. Let them turn to the Lord, and he will have mercy on them, and to our God, for he will freely pardon. 8 “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the Lord. 9 “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts. 10 As the rain and the snow come down from heaven, and do not return to it without watering the earth
and making it bud and flourish, so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater,
11 so is my word that goes out from my mouth: It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.

Don’t accept the lie that you must fully understand God in order for God to be real in your life. God’s ways are far greater than ours and we can rejoice in His presence and His blessings – even when we don’t fully understand all of His ways. Dig deeper for sure – trying to grasp the full measure and understanding of God – but rejoice along the way – because it is all about the journey and in time – by-and-by – God will make things clear. Let the Holy Spirit guide us as we walk this journey of life – trying to understand – but rejoicing in the journey with God.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

August 25, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Holy Spirit, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

