Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

God Can See Us!

Genesis 16:13

She gave this name to the Lord who spoke to her: “You are the God who sees me,” for she said, “I have now seen the One who sees me.”

RayMcDAnyone reading this blog post old enough to remember the TV show Romper Room? It started airing a couple of years before I was born and was franchised (rather than syndicated) – which means local stars were used wherever the show aired. It began in Baltimore and local talent worked the show.

What I remember most about this show was the Magic Mirror – through which the host could see the many children who were watching. Children were encouraged (parents of course) to mail in first names and the host would say I see Billy – I see Mary – I see Sally – etc. during the show to signify the children watching. I really thought she could see right through her mirror and into my home and I waited to hear my name.

Most of us have this need to be seen. Many a couple married by my dad in my younger years have me showing up in their wedding photos. I guess – at a young age – I wanted to be seen. Every once in awhile I get letters – e-mails – or pictures on social media from folks who have me in their wedding pictures. The modern term is photo bomb I think! We all like to be seen.

Today’s passage is something from a minor player it seems in the early stages of God’s people. Hagar was the hand servant of Sarah (Sarai) – Abraham’s wife. Sarah gave her to her husband when she was impatient about God’s promise (she and Abraham were to have many descendants) but it wasn’t happening in her time frame. I assume Sarah thought a child born to Hagar would still be hers (the laws of the land so to speak) but the women became jealous and suspicious of one another and soon Hagar fled for her safety.

Hagar was on the run but God still had His eye on her and her son Ishmael. God spoke with Hagar and told her to return home and God blessed her too. Here is today’s passage in partial context. Genesis 16:13–16 – 13 She gave this name to the Lord who spoke to her: “You are the God who sees me,” for she said, “I have now seen the One who sees me.” 14 That is why the well was called Beer Lahai Roi; it is still there, between Kadesh and Bered. 15 So Hagar bore Abram a son, and Abram gave the name Ishmael to the son she had borne. 16 Abram was eighty-six years old when Hagar bore him Ishmael.

God has His eye on us – always. There may be times – like with Hagar – we flee from our troubles – thinking we are alone and in danger. Hear this promise – God always has His eyes on us and on our circumstance. God will always be there to strengthen and help us – through – over – or around our issues. Pray that God will reveal Himself to us in our times of need and in our times of blessing. Pray that we will open our eyes to see God all around us – going before us – with us – and behind us!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

August 29, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

