Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

I Will Return!

John 14:3

And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am.

RayMcDDo you talk to your pets? When we leave our dog places (even the groomers’ place) – we tell him we will be back and we will come to get him – we will not leave him and not return. We assure him that we will be back – we will return.

We left him with our daughter recently for a weekend and told him – as if he could understand – that we would be back soon and that our daughter would take care of him. Anyone crazy like us? Anyone else talk to their pets? How about your plants? Now that would be silly – right?

How about when we take trips – do we talk to our spouse or our children or our co-workers and tell them we will be back? I inform my wife that I will be back when I take a trip without her. I tell her to please don’t sell or give away any of my things while I’m gone – LOL.

I usually tell my wife in the morning when I leave for work that I love her and will see her soon. I try to do this everyday – because you never know when it might be the last time I leave her (she doesn’t like to think like that – but for me it must be an occupational hazard I’ve witnessed far too many times).

Four years ago today I woke up with my father in heaven – he passed the evening of September 18, 2012. We were there with him shortly before he passed and he died peacefully after a season of suffering. He is dearly missed. But there was this promise from Jesus that He would return for His own that brought us peace.

Today’s passage was a great help for the family – knowing that God was at His bedside when he drew his last breath to take him home – that Jesus returned for him. Here is today’s passage in partial context. John 14:1–7 – 1 “Do not let your hearts be troubled. You believe in God; believe also in me. 2 My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? 3 And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. 4 You know the way to the place where I am going.” 5 Thomas said to him, “Lord, we don’t know where you are going, so how can we know the way?” 6 Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. 7 If you really know me, you will know my Father as well. From now on, you do know him and have seen him.”

Jesus promised us – if our heart belongs to Him – He would return for us – He would come back for us – He would prepare a place and return for us! Such words bring so much peace – so much comfort in times like illness and death. I know God’s promise in these verses brought me a lot of peace when my father died and still do today. Jesus promised us that He would return to receive His own. He will return!

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

September 19, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Marriage, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

