Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Your Word In My Heart

Psalm 119:11

I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.

RayMcDWe’ve begun a sermon series on the Book of James. It is a Bible Study during the sermon for five of the next six Sundays.

Sunday we talked a little about the heart – about faith – about the tongue. Attitude is so important. One of my favorite sayings is – Christianity boils down to attitude – the position and condition of one’s heart.

One of the things we are trying to do at our local church is reach the younger generation with Jesus. Some believe that the way to reach the younger generation means softening the truth – lowering the standards – so the next generation will not find Christianity to be too rigid. I believe just the opposite. I believe that the younger generation has seen enough wishy-washiness in the world where there are no absolutes and nothing one can count on for truth. I believe that all generations need to hear the truth – the Word of God.

Digging into the Word of God and hiding it in our hearts is so essential for Christians to grow – to mature. Here’s today’s passage in partial context. Psalm 119:9–16 – 9 How can a young person stay on the path of purity? By living according to your word. 10 I seek you with all my heart; do not let me stray from your commands. 11 I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you. 12 Praise be to you, Lord; teach me your decrees. 13 With my lips I recount all the laws that come from your mouth. 14 I rejoice in following your statutes as one rejoices in great riches. 15 I meditate on your precepts and consider your ways. 16 I delight in your decrees; I will not neglect your word.

How can a young person stay on the path of purity? By living according to your word. It is through hidden God’s word in our heart that we might not sin against God. We cannot water down the truth – that is what the world does. We must study the Word of God and put it on our hearts so that we can defeat the devil wherever he shows himself. We need to meditate on God’s precepts and consider God’s ways. This will not happen absent from a deep digging into God’s Word – the Holy Bible.

Join us on Sundays at 8:15 or 11 am as we dig into God’s Word together at First United Methodist Church of Laurel. There is always room for one more! Come and join us as we place the Word of God into our hearts.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

September 20, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Community, Daily Devotion, Denomination, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Sermons, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

