Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

God’s Will For Our Lives

Romans 12:2

Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.

RayMcDIf there is a subject that comes up the most in ministry – it is determining the will of God for our lives. We’re spending a time of prayer – interviews – and discernment right now on our next Contemporary Worship Leader. We’re praying about it and some of the candidates for the position are praying about it. We are seeking God’s will.

A number of High School students over the years have asked me how they can determine God’s will for their future. Where should they go to school? Should they go to college or trade school or some other form of advanced education past High School? What is God’s will for me?

Through the years young people have asked – what is God’s will concerning my future? Should I get married? Should I work here or there? Should I have my education and job before I settle down and get married? When should we have children? Where should we work? Where should we live? What is God’s will for me?

Lately some of my friends have been dealing with the question – when should I retire? What is God’s will for my life in this next season of life? Should I continue to work as long as I have the health and energy? What is God’s will for my life?

Today’s passage is one of my favorite passages of Scripture. Here it is in partial context. Romans 12:1–2 – 1 Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God—this is your true and proper worship. Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.

Paul suggests that one way of testing or telling God’s will is to remove the influence of the world and focus on God. Spending more time with God and less time with the world is a sure-fire way of discerning God’s will he writes. I would say this is a good formula for seeking God’s will in most any circumstance. Remove the world from major influence and seek after God’s face and grace and spend time with Him. This is a tested formula for discerning God’s will for our lives.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

September 22, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Marriage, Outreach, Personal, Prayer, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

