Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Lord – Set Us Free From Our Things

Psalm 146:7

He upholds the cause of the oppressed and gives food to the hungry. The Lord sets prisoners free,

RayMcDThere was a time I heard this a lot – do we own our things or do our things own us? While growing up in America – in a lower middle class family – things were of some importance. My parents worked hard to provide for us some of the finer things of life. Christmas was a big deal because it was a time we got lots of new things. Yet ownership of things is a trap for some if not many.

With the recent hurricane – Hurricane Matthew – much devastation has occurred in our Western Hemisphere. Haiti was a place where much damage of property and loss of life occurred. I spent a week on a mission trip there and know that most of the people of Haiti have very little. It wouldn’t take much to take away all that some families have worked a lifetime to collect. I know that much damage was caused in the USA as well but many families in America have insurance or savings or other support to fall back on (although I realize some families do not and may have lost everything). Again – I ask the question I mentioned earlier – do we own our things or do our things own us?

Today’s passage speaks about setting prisoners free. I want to focus our thoughts today on being set free from our things. I’m not suggesting we sell everything and give it to the poor – but I am suggesting that we focus on who really should be the owner of our things and how we should view our things.

Here is today’s passage in partial context. Psalm 146:1-10 – Praise the Lord. Praise the Lord, my soul. I will praise the Lord all my life; I will sing praise to my God as long as I live. 3 Do not put your trust in princes, in human beings, who cannot save. 4 When their spirit departs, they return to the ground; on that very day their plans come to nothing. 5 Blessed are those whose help is the God of Jacob, whose hope is in the Lord their God. He is the Maker of heaven and earth, the sea, and everything in them— he remains faithful forever. He upholds the cause of the oppressed and gives food to the hungry. The Lord sets prisoners free, 8 the Lord gives sight to the blind, the Lord lifts up those who are bowed down, the Lord loves the righteous. 9 The Lord watches over the foreigner and sustains the fatherless and the widow, but he frustrates the ways of the wicked. 10 The Lord reigns forever, your God, O Zion, for all generations. Praise the Lord.

As much as many of us in the USA cling to our things – we might be better served to realize that life is more important than our things. If we could be set free from our clinging nature to our things – to see them as assets to be used by God to God’s glory – I think we would be better off. Our homes – our income – our things – should be used to share the Gospel – to raise our families to love Jesus – not to satisfy our carnal nature.

My prayer is that God would set me free in my attitude toward my things. I pray it for us all – for all sisters and brothers in Christ. I pray that we will get a better handle on who owns our things – and turn over ownership to Jesus. Dear Lord – set us free – set these prisoners free from bondage to our things. Allow us to see how You have blessed us with things – not for our pleasure as much as for service to You.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

October 11, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

