Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Bone Of Our Bones

Genesis 2:23-24

23 The man said, “This is now bone of my bones and flesh of my flesh; she shall be called ‘woman,’ for she was taken out of man.” 24 For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and they will become one flesh.

RayMcDGod has a plan for marriage. This is one of the plans found in the Bible. When God was creating the universe He created man and woman. When the woman (Eve) was created and brought to man (Adam) – Adam exclaimed this is now bone of my bones and flesh of my flesh.

One of the things I get from this passage is that a husband should see his wife as part of him – bone of his bones. The wedding vows talk about the two becoming one and that nothing is to divide them. Husbands should consider their wives to be part of them – part of their very self.

You know – I was once very fit. I was lean and mean. I could run all day – I could bench press more than I weighed. But part of me – my hunger – and my lack of will power in this area – began to eat away at the shape I had and gave me the shape I have now. It is part of me that created in me something I do not desire. I cannot just get rid of me – I need to work on me to make me better. I need to overcome that part of me that has ruined my shape (although round is a shape).

When I married my wife – it was by free will. No one forced me – no one coerced me to get married. She became flesh of my flesh – bone of my bones – part of me. If our relationship is not perfect – or not what it once was – or not what we would like it to be – I cannot jettison part of me – but rather my wife and I must work together to strengthen our marriage. She is part of me – we are part of each other.

If more men had this mindset – there would be less divorce and less marital problems. There would be healing in marriages and issues would be solved.

I realize that if part of my body had cancer I wouldn’t hesitate to cut it off if by removing it I could save the body – my life. And I realize that some partners change over the years and become a cancer in the body of marriage. But as with my human body – cutting it out or off would be the last resort after trying to defeat the cancer and saving the body part. Too many people see divorce as the only way to fix a broken marriage. If more men and women would understand that when they marry they become one body – they might treat one another differently – and take more care to heal the wounds that attack their marriage.

Men and women – love on each other! Love each other as bone of our bones and flesh of our flesh. Let us do everything in our power to heal our marriages and be models of Christ’s love for us.

Just something to think about today as you go on your way.

October 25, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

