Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Boasting In Christ’s Power

2 Corinthians 12:9

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

RayMcDAs I get physically older – I’m losing muscle mass. I know I don’t have to lose as much muscle mass as I am because I knew a man much older than me who looked like he was in his 30’s or 40’s! Reggie Faust worked out and built muscle – daily. I MUST get back to working out – not just playing basketball and golf.

It is not fun being weaker than I was one day not too long ago (and I was never a powerhouse for sure). My physical strength is deteriorating and I must take action to reverse that trend. Working out in the gym must become a priority once again. Playing basketball Monday morning and will either go to the gym afterward or on Tuesday morning! That is my pledge. Jeff Dibler – you can hold me to this pledge.

As much as I may rebuild some muscle over the next few months – I will never be like Arnold Schwarzenegger! Or even Jeff Dibler! But I can be stronger than I am.

Spiritual power is also an area where I need to improve. (Mirror up) We all need to develop a stronger spiritual presence. We need to deepen our prayer life. We need to develop a more personal walk with Jesus. We need to live the love of Christ more fully.

We may never become Billy Graham or Mother Teresa – we don’t need to be. We merely need to be the best we can be and trust that even in our weakness (being the best we can be) God will pick us up.

Today’s passage speaks of boasting in our weakness about the strength of God. Here is today’s passage in partial context. 2 Corinthians 12:1–10 – 1 I must go on boasting. Although there is nothing to be gained, I will go on to visions and revelations from the Lord. 2 I know a man in Christ who fourteen years ago was caught up to the third heaven. Whether it was in the body or out of the body I do not know—God knows. 3 And I know that this man—whether in the body or apart from the body I do not know, but God knows—4 was caught up to paradise and heard inexpressible things, things that no one is permitted to tell. 5 I will boast about a man like that, but I will not boast about myself, except about my weaknesses. Even if I should choose to boast, I would not be a fool, because I would be speaking the truth. But I refrain, so no one will think more of me than is warranted by what I do or say, 7 or because of these surpassingly great revelations. Therefore, in order to keep me from becoming conceited, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me. Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. 9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 10 That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

I (We) am (are) a sinner (sinners). We are weak and we cannot save ourselves. We are not able to power up and become worthy of Christ. If we boast in anything – we must boast in Christ’s power in our lives.

I might be able to build some physical muscle and have something to boast about. I might lose another 10 or 20 or even 30 pounds and have something to be proud of for sure. But even if I grow stronger spiritually – there will never be anything to boast about – unless I boast in my weakness and the power of Christ!

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

October 31, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Community, Daily Devotion, Daily Prayer, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

