Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

God Has Our Back – He Will Rescue Us!

Jeremiah 1:8

Do not be afraid of them, for I am with you and will rescue you,” declares the Lord.

RayMcDWhen I was in High School – during the early 70’s – there was much unrest in our nation and in Annapolis where I lived. It was mostly racial – and it was a scary time for all involved. I remember the late 60’s while living in Seat Pleasant – this was a stressful time – a time when you wondered who might have your back if there was trouble.

I was on the football team and the basketball team at Annapolis High in the 70’s and I had friends from every hue – every shade – every color. I saw people as people (I can’t say I was perfect at it but I tried for sure). I remember a time when I could have been hurt badly by a group of students – while walking through the old cafeteria area in one of our older buildings. I was about to have my clock cleaned when a friend stepped forward and said – Ray’s OK – let him pass. I will forever remember this experience and am thankful for my friend who spoke up for me. He had my back in a troubled time.

As a pastor I deal with people facing death more often than I would like for sure. Recently – talking to two such people – facing death – it blessed me to hear them both talk about their faith and they certainty that God was looking out for them. Even as their earthly lives are coming to an end – they knew that God would rescue them – eternally!

Here is today’s passage in partial context. Jeremiah 1:4–10 – The word of the Lord came to me, saying, “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.” 6 “Alas, Sovereign Lord,” I said, “I do not know how to speak; I am too young.” But the Lord said to me, “Do not say, ‘I am too young.’ You must go to everyone I send you to and say whatever I command you. Do not be afraid of them, for I am with you and will rescue you,” declares the Lord. 9 Then the Lord reached out his hand and touched my mouth and said to me, “I have put my words in your mouth. 10 See, today I appoint you over nations and kingdoms to uproot and tear down, to destroy and overthrow, to build and to plant.”

Jeremiah was very young and going up against a nation. He was a prophet of God and God promised to be with him and to rescue him when he needed it. God had a plan for Jeremiah (and I think for all of us) before he was born – while he was in his mother’s womb (another reason I am against abortion). I believe that God has a plan for all of us and if we are faithful to walk out God’s plan – God will rescue us – even if only unto eternity (did I type only?).

God has promised to always be with us and to rescue us. That is Good News. I liked having friends who had my back in High School. I love having a God who has my back at all times!

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

November 2, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Evangelism, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

