Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Election Day Is Tomorrow In The USA

John 18:36

Jesus said, My kingdom is not of this world. If it were, my servants would fight to prevent my arrest by the Jewish leaders. But now my kingdom is from another place.

RayMcDTomorrow is Election Day. I still hold to my statement that neither candidate is a good selection IMHO. I hate being in the place of choosing the lesser of two evils – yet that is what America has this election. I will not run down either candidate’s troubles – Facebook has chronicled them for months now. I pray our readers will read up on the stances of the candidates and pray about their choice. I pray – if you haven’t already – that you will go out and vote tomorrow. My wife and I plan to vote early Tuesday morning before heading to work. Voting begins at 7 am and will be open until 8 pm. I hope you can find a time to vote.

In a recent sermon Andy Stanley said – All of you who are 45 and older, look up here, Stanley said, Many of you have grown weary and lost heart and the reason is – you have fixed your eyes on a political system… and you are growing weary and you need to knock it off and I’ll tell you why… because you are scaring the children!

jesus-is-kingRemember what I said in a recent sermon and on a blog post here? I quoted a meme I found online that said – No Matter Who Is President – Jesus Is King! See the meme in this post.

Today’s passage reminds us that Jesus’ kingdom is not John 18:28–39 – 28 Then the Jewish leaders took Jesus from Caiaphas to the palace of the Roman governor. By now it was early morning, and to avoid ceremonial uncleanness they did not enter the palace, because they wanted to be able to eat the Passover. 29 So Pilate came out to them and asked, “What charges are you bringing against this man?” 30 “If he were not a criminal,” they replied, “we would not have handed him over to you.” 31 Pilate said, “Take him yourselves and judge him by your own law.” “But we have no right to execute anyone,” they objected. 32 This took place to fulfill what Jesus had said about the kind of death he was going to die. 33 Pilate then went back inside the palace, summoned Jesus and asked him, “Are you the king of the Jews?” 34 “Is that your own idea,” Jesus asked, “or did others talk to you about me?” 35 “Am I a Jew?” Pilate replied. “Your own people and chief priests handed you over to me. What is it you have done?” 36 Jesus said, “My kingdom is not of this world. If it were, my servants would fight to prevent my arrest by the Jewish leaders. But now my kingdom is from another place.” 37 “You are a king, then!” said Pilate. Jesus answered, “You say that I am a king. In fact, the reason I was born and came into the world is to testify to the truth. Everyone on the side of truth listens to me.” 38 “What is truth?” retorted Pilate. With this he went out again to the Jews gathered there and said, “I find no basis for a charge against him. 39 But it is your custom for me to release to you one prisoner at the time of the Passover. Do you want me to release ‘the king of the Jews’?”

Remember – Ephesians 6:10–12 – 10 Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. 11 Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. 12 For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.

Pray for your nation (if you are from the USA) tomorrow. Pray for your vote. Rejoice that we are allowed to vote. Support the elected and pray for them. Remember – Jesus is King!

Just something for us to think about today as we go on our way.

November 7, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Personal, Prayer, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

