Ray McDonald's Blog

Thoughts and Reflections

Do We Let Our Light Shine?

Philippians 2:15-16

15 Then you will shine among them like stars in the sky 16 as you hold firmly to the word of life.

RayMcDHave you ever looked out into the night sky and watched the stars? If you live in an urban area – this might be a little hard – but if you live in a rural area like I do – it is a sight to behold. The stars shine brightly in the clear night sky. When I was a teenager – I use to love sitting on the roof top of our family home – just outside my upstairs window – watching the sky (my room have a window that opened onto the roof and I slipped out there some nights – my parents didn’t know – I think – unless my brother rated on me – we shared a room).

Let’s look at today’s passage in partial context. Philippians 2:12–18 – 12 Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed—not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence—continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling, 13 for it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose. 14 Do everything without grumbling or arguing, 15 so that you may become blameless and pure, “children of God without fault in a warped and crooked generation.”  Then you will shine among them like stars in the sky 16 as you hold firmly to the word of life. And then I will be able to boast on the day of Christ that I did not run or labor in vain. 17 But even if I am being poured out like a drink offering on the sacrifice and service coming from your faith, I am glad and rejoice with all of you. 18 So you too should be glad and rejoice with me.

We’re called by today’s passage to shine among them like stars in the sky. We are called to be a witness for Jesus – to shine like stars – to hold firm to the word of life. We’re called in the same passage – expanded a little – to work out our salvation – and to do so with reverence – with fear and trembling. As God works in us – through us – and in spite of us – we are to let our light so shine before men and women that they see Jesus! Matthew 5:16 – In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.

We are called to shine for Jesus! I see men and women that shine like stars every Sunday at First United Methodist Church. Men and women who gave of themselves to serve their nation. Men and women who gave themselves to their country.

I also see men and women giving their all in ministry at FUMCL. Recently I attended a closing program at a prison and watched as men and women from Kairos – gave of themselves. I also see men and women shining like stars is regular every day ways as they serve others in our church and in the ministries we share. Letting our light so shine before others that they see Jesus in us is what it is all about.

Shine – each day – like stars in the sky – for Jesus! Think about ways you can shine for Jesus at work – at home – in the community around you – wherever your day takes you! Do we let our light – the light of Christ – shine in and thru our lives? Let it be so!

Just something for us to think about today as you go on your way.

P.S. – Thanks to all Veterans for their service to God and Country!

November 11, 2016 - Posted by | Build, Church, Community, Daily Devotion, Discipleship, Encouragement, Faith Journey, Family, From the Pastor, Leadership, Outreach, Personal, Theology | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

